Configs for my new Computer?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dirka15

Solid State Member
Hey, i just purchased my first custom computer, and im new to the whole, OCing and what not, and messing around with configuations and what not, so to keep things simple, i was just going to OC my Processor.

I got a E8400 Wolfdale 3.0

the rest of my comp
Giga EP45C DS3R
MSI HD 4870x2 Crossfire
2x 2GB DDR3 Gskill at 1600
CoolerMaster 750W
and a Zalman 110 CPU cooler sittin in a Antec 900
also im going to be running a 1900 resolution

what would be a good OC for this processor and what i have in the comp?
I plan to keep the ram and GPU stock...cause...thats out of my league atm though...but was wondering, if maybe another 4 GB of ram would be considerable over kill, its a gift that might be given to me, not my budget, i just have already bought everything else.
games i intend to play are WAR, Crysis and some new tittles coming out soon.

Thanx for your time.

First of all 8GB of RAM would be TOTAL overkill. Totally unneeded for gaming. Your CPU could be overclocked enormously, just google overclocking the E8400 to get some tips.

Even though you should still overclock your video cards (because it's so easy) you probably don't need to considering you have two 4870x2's.

I actually read a review, I can't remember which one it was but they said that it was rather difficult to OC the X2. I don't know if that has changed but I doubt it. No need to anyways with 2 X2's. That will dominate any and every game you throw at it.

He didn't ask for a new case...

Oh and another 4GB of ram would be completely useless unless you're editing huge HD movies and doing ridiculous Maya work. If somebody gives you another 4GB for some reason, just sell it or keep it as backup or something.