"Concept" PC - Page 7 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-21-2006, 02:14 AM   #61 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BennyV04988
its like trying to rub my head and pat my belly to me. i cant grasp it. it boggles my mind
I can do that, and vice versa. I've got a question, does frozen water conduct electricity?
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 03:42 AM   #62 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 300
Default

Ive read something about this in a magzine...
__________________

__________________
Sig reinstated SigSanta
Kazama is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 12:05 PM   #63 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BennyV04988
compelled that it needs air! lol. its like trying to rub my head and pat my belly to me. i cant grasp it. it boggles my mind
Technically, it does need air. The HSF needs to blow air onto the processor and it wouldn't be able to do it in a vaccuum.

003, yes, Ice does conduct electricity, and stop trying to be a wannabe Chankama with that avatar Heck, stop changing them everyday.
Flanker is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 12:35 PM   #64 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Flanker
and stop trying to be a wannabe Chankama with that avatar Heck, stop changing them everyday.
LOL, I've just been trying to find a good one. I actually did not even get the idea from him, but yeah his is really cool. Technically if it is cold enough, you don't NEED to have a fan, it could just be passively cooled, that's how it's done with ln2 and dice. But then again, a freezer is not anywhere near -190c.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 12:48 PM   #65 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

I've been trying to find a new avatar too, lol. I've had this one for like 4 or 5 months now. Don't know a good one. Your skeleton one yesterday was pretty cool though.
Flanker is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 07:28 PM   #66 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default

ya anyways i thot it wasnt good for electronics to be below -10C? and i think the cpu would freeze over too since 100C - 190C still means ur cpu is running at -90C lol. intel and amd should just rubberize all components then we can just fill the case up.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 07:36 PM   #67 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

You thought wrong.
Flanker is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 09:58 PM   #68 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
agentnibbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 44
Default

if you put your computer in a freezer, the parts heat would create condensation, there fore getting into your psu/parts and blowing up your computer and freezer.
__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 945 Deneb 3.0GHz | Gigabyte GA-MA770T-UD3P | Crucial 2GB DDR3@1333 | BFG GeForce 9800GTX | X-Fi XtremeMusic
agentnibbles is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 10:14 PM   #69 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

agent nibbles have you read a single post on this entire topic? We've just spent 4 pages exlaining why it would NOT create condensation on the actual pc, only on the colder WALLS of the freezer. thats what condensation is... warm air sticks to cold surface.
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 11:07 PM   #70 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 765
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by agentnibbles
if you put your computer in a freezer, the parts heat would create condensation, there fore getting into your psu/parts and blowing up your computer and freezer.
Yeah not the smartest post to make.
__________________

septoid2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.