"Concept" PC - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-20-2006, 12:28 PM   #31 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

sounds like we're going to need to buy some laquer.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 01:15 PM   #32 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

I'm not so sure about that 003. Condensation occurs when you have a item that is colder than it's environment. Since the PC would be inside the fridge/freezer, the temp of the components would actually be higher than the temperature of the surroundings, leaving no risk on condensation. Same basic concept as putting your PC out during a snowstorm.

But thats just me. Sounds like it should work, but I wouldn't know.
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 01:28 PM   #33 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Well, there is water vapor in the air, and when it is cooled via-refrigeration, it virtually skips the liquid stage and becomes frozen water particles. From that point, they have momentum behind them coming out of the cooling unit and when they hit the warmer components, may melt. This is a possibility...

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 01:35 PM   #34 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Well, I'm assuming that the PC would be turned off and the side taken off before being put in the fridge (I'm thinking a fridge, freezer would get much colder). That way, all the particles that might freeze would do so without harm to the PC. Also, I've never seen ice particles in my fridge. I'm assuming it doesn't get below 0°C in there, so I don't think any freezing would be an issue.

Although you're right in saying that when you take the PC out, condensation would occur. But again, I'm assuming that the PC would be turned off, therefore causing no damage to components.

OR, we could just cover the whole motherboard in Dielectric grease, or AS5 or something, like those DICE and LN2 users do.
Flanker is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 01:49 PM   #35 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

oh! See, I was making the assumption we were putting the computer in the freezer... I think someone brought an icebox up earlier in the thread.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 02:03 PM   #36 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Hmm, well, I think its still arguable if ice would damage the PC. For example, what if you turned off the PC, and allowed all the H2O on the air to freeze. When only N2 or CO2 were left, you could turn on the PC without any damage due to electrical short circuit.

I still say we dip the whole thing in some AS5.
Flanker is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 02:04 PM   #37 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default

its nothing related to freezing comp or oil cooling..but..i have an idea.
someone should make a computer fan w/ like hepa filter on it. so it works as air cleaner also.
cuz i just bought an air cleaner and and its basically fans w/ hepa hilter and ionized electronics.
99% or computers have fans so y not clean the room air while using comp?
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.384v - AsRock P67 Extreme4 B3 BIOS 1.90
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 PC12800 2x4GB @ 1866 9-10-9-28 1T 1.590v
EVGA GTX 570HD SC 930/1950 1.100v
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB - OCZ 700W PSU (4x18A) - Noctua NH-D14 (BM120mm x Noctua140mm)
Corsair 600T SE White - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit SP1 - Mitsubishi DiamondPro2070sb (CRT!)

3DMark11 P7089 | 3DMark Vantage P26383
boomstick666 is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 02:21 PM   #38 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Flanker
I still say we dip the whole thing in some AS5.
AS5 also conducts electricity. There is even a warning about that on thier website. And if you put the PC in the freezer, the parts like the CPU and stuff would heat up, and there is "frozen" mist inside freezers, and when that hits the heated up parts, it melts and turns to water, or condensation if you want to call it that.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 02:43 PM   #39 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
ulater6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 757
Send a message via AIM to ulater6000 Send a message via Yahoo to ulater6000
Default

ROFL

One word: Giant Ice Cube....you would have a giant block of frozed oil on your desk.
__________________
CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, Cisco CCENT, Cisco CCNA Routing & Switching
ulater6000 is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 03:09 PM   #40 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

haahaha...mmmmm ice....bling bling
__________________

__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.