computer wont post - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-25-2005, 03:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 28
Default computer wont post

I have built about 4 computers now with no problems. SO i just finished building myslf a new gaming rig, and i am having startup/post issues.
Soyo PEI865 Dragon2 V1.0 mobo
Intel P4 3.0 Ghz Extreme Edition 800Mhz FSB
2Ghz OCZ Gold Edition DDR400 - (2) dual channel kits (4x512)
Cooler Master 450 watt PSU
160 Gb Seagate HDD
etc...
The system powers up no problem, my PSU power meter shows that all is well, however, i get no video. I DO get a beep code, it is 2 short beeps very close together, followed by 6 short beeps with space in between. Please help, i cannot find this beep code anywhere online (I believe that the mobo runs on AMI Bios, but not certain)
thanks!
__________________

HackThePlanet is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 03:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

What kind of video card do you have? Try reseting the bios and reseating the video card. Verify that all cards and RAM etc... are in. Reseat it all. Post results.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 03:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Go to the Sony website or drop Sony a line and ask them about the beep code. If they didn't put it in the manual/documentation, then that's where you go.

Could be a number of things, from an unseated card, to improperly-set jumpers, power, etc...
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 08:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 28
Default new update

Well, to update everybody on a couple of things. I e-mailed Soyo about 2 days ago with my problem, and the slow bastards still havn't responded.
I tried messing around with some things to troubleshoot. BTW, i have a Geforce FX5500. I tried unplugging the video card altogether to see if that would cause my system to stop making the same beep code, but it still made the same one. So i then unplugged my ram. Sure enough, the beep codes disappeared upon power on, but still no post. So this makes me wonder, could it be the ram, but it is brand new, quite expensive ram, so why would it just magically be bad?
HackThePlanet is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 08:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

Possible you need a BIOS update for the CPU?
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 09:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 28
Default

how would i flash my bios if i cant even get passed post?
HackThePlanet is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 09:05 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

...

Sounds like either something's popped, or something still isn't seated right.

I'm surprised Sony hasn't responded to you yet. Call them.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 04:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 28
Default

What do you mean by something popped? Also, the only jumper on my mobo is the bios jumper and the ir jumper, which makes it easy to rule out that the jumpers arent set right
HackThePlanet is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 10:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by HackThePlanet
What do you mean by something popped? Also, the only jumper on my mobo is the bios jumper and the ir jumper, which makes it easy to rule out that the jumpers arent set right
Well if nothing's out of seat, and everything is compatible, and you have the right power and everything, and when you turn it on it just sits there....it's dead.

So either it's dead (ie - popped, something burned out, etc), or it's one of those other things.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 12:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 28
Default

i went on a different forum and somebody told me to build the system up barebones, and report back. I understand how this could help, but what should i build on the barebone. Should i just do the mobo, processor, ram, and psu? or??
__________________

HackThePlanet is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.