Computer Upgrade - What do you think? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-10-2007, 09:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 18
Default Computer Upgrade - What do you think?

So my rig is exactly 2 years old now, and it's definitely time for an upgrade. I've only added 1 gig of RAM and replaced my graphics card since then, but it's still pretty out of date according to modern standards. Here are the specs:

AMD 64 3000+ "Newcastle" 2.0GHz (socket 754)
MSI K8T NEO-FIS2R Socket 754 VIA K8T800 ATX AMD Motherboard
2GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400
GeForce 6800ULTRA 256MB DDR3 256-BIT
Antec TruePower TRUEBLUE 480 ATX12V 480W Power Supply
120GB HD
Windows XP

It's become evident that socket 754 won't cut it any more, and upgrading the CPU won't get me too far, so I've decided to go with socket 939 and completely upgrade my CPU/mobo(which does not have a PCI-E slot), along with my graphics card (which is AGP), with a pretty limited budget of approximately $500.

So how would this work? Keep in mind that I am pretty much limited to 939 (no AM2) and AMD because of the 2GB of DDR400 RAM that I don't want to just throw away.

ABIT AN8 32X Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 SLI X16 ATX AMD Motherboard (http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16813127232)

BFG Tech BFGR7950512GTOCE GeForce 7950GT 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 OC Video Card (http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16814143071)

AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ Manchester 2.0GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket 939 Processor
(http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16819103562)

What do you think? I greatly appreciate your time and assistance.
__________________

twalc6 is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 09:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 203
Default

correct me if i'm wrong, but doesnt DDR400 RAM work with all newer mobos? so if it does, you can go any way you want, with AM2 and AMD or core 2 dou.
__________________

__________________
Computer noob in training.
savagenator is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 09:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 639
Default

If the mainboard is skt AM2 or LGA775 then you will need DDR2 memory
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3400Mhz
Asus P5B-E
BFG 8800GTX OC
Samsung 400 GB Sata II
Corsair XMS2 2GB DDR2 800 5-5-5-12
Zalman CNPS-9700 LED
Antec Nine Hundred
Hp W2207 22" Widescreen Monitor
Windows Vista Home Premium
Silverstone ST60F 600W PSU
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue Gaming Mouse
gmanych is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 09:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

DDR400 doesn't work with newer mobos, in terms of the AM2 and C2D socket. But it will work with the 939 mobos.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 09:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 203
Default

oh, i didnt know that. That kinda sucks!
__________________
Computer noob in training.
savagenator is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 09:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by savagenator
oh, i didnt know that. That kinda sucks!
Pretty much, yep.
twalc6 is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 10:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 18
Default

So... any suggestions or thoughts?
twalc6 is offline  
Old 01-11-2007, 03:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 18
Default

?
twalc6 is offline  
Old 01-11-2007, 04:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 421
Default

CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 $190
Motherboard: Gigabyte 965P-DS3 $144.99

Sell your memory (and graphics card and other parts) and buy some DDR2 RAM. The graphics card you picked is fine. And you can keep the psu and the harddrive.
__________________

Phrantic is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.