Computer upgrade, need some info pls - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-08-2006, 08:49 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 566
Send a message via AIM to reckliss
Default

Well whats your budget I might be able to get you a new CPU, GPU, and RAM?
__________________

reckliss is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 08:54 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 26
Default

im in New zealand so... 1200$ NZ for cpu gpu and motherboard
__________________

Kranky88 is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 08:57 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 26
Default

wil i be able to over the opteron with Asus A8n and the crosair ram (no heatsink ordinary stuff) ive got?
Kranky88 is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 10:15 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 566
Send a message via AIM to reckliss
Default

Do you know the exchange rate for NZ to US $?

I dk about the RAM.
reckliss is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 10:35 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 26
Default

i think its like 1.60NZ is 1$ us
Kranky88 is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 10:42 PM   #16 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

k heres the deal
ALl in NZ dollars
DFI Lanparty UT Ultra-D $197
AMD OPteron 165 -$534
eVGA 7900 GT -$510
G.SKill 2x1gb Dual Channel, Case Latency 2.5 $280

Thats about $1500 but thats with the ram so you take the ram u planned on buying and add w/e is necessary so its not that far off and its a really good rig.
john3 is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 10:51 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 566
Send a message via AIM to reckliss
Default

So somewhere around $750 US Dollars here we go:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102698
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103588
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231032

1800XT
Opteron 165
G.Skill 2X1GB Extreme Series

Total:$726.99US Dollars
reckliss is offline  
Old 04-09-2006, 12:50 AM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 26
Default

Will my 2 x 512mb *corsair value select* ram bottleneck my system if i get an opteron 165 + 7900gt + 2 raptoprs raid0?
Kranky88 is offline  
Old 04-09-2006, 04:55 AM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

opty..


and i dont think that it would bottle neck... it would just lag at some games like bf2 when running in a place not yet loaded... but not bottleneck
alexsabree is offline  
Old 04-09-2006, 02:14 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 566
Send a message via AIM to reckliss
Default

If you get the opteron I would get new/better RAM
__________________

reckliss is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.