Computer upgrade, need some info pls - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-08-2006, 06:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 26
Default Computer upgrade, need some info pls

Hi all, I currently have a 3ghz prescot on a 478 board with an x800GT video card running with 1ghz of ddr400 ram. I also have 2 raptors in Raid 0 but I think that system is bottlenecking those harddrives..right? because i dont notice a performance change since changing to the raptors from an ordinary 7200rpm hdd.

Now I want to upgrade to a dual core system with a better graphics card. I was thinking along the lines of x2 4200+ on Asus A8N, and 7800gt 256mb. I want to use the same harddrives. Will the system i mentioned be alright for them? and are there any parts better for similar price that I know of?

Thanks for you advice
__________________

Kranky88 is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 07:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 566
Send a message via AIM to reckliss
Default

I would go with a 3800+ or a Opteron 165 for the Option of overclocking (the opteron is also a very good processor with no overclock) and a 7900GT and you ment 1gb of ddr400
__________________

reckliss is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 07:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

get a 7900GT, its way better than a 7800GT and its a lil more expensive
john3 is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 07:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 26
Default

opteron 165 dual core > x2 4200+?
Kranky88 is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 07:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

opty 165, ONLY plan on doing serious ocing. If not get the x2 3800+, and just oc it .2ghz to a x2 4200+, it will be the same thing but just cheaper.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 07:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 566
Send a message via AIM to reckliss
Default

Opteron 165 is a dual core runs at 1.8ghz(Each Core) stock with 2mb l2 cache while the 4200+ runs at 2.2ghz(each core) with 1mb l2 cache the opteron can easily overclock to 2.2ghz with decent ram so its basicly your choice
reckliss is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 08:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 26
Default

i got 1 gig of very ordinary corsair ram.. is that ok?
Kranky88 is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 08:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 566
Send a message via AIM to reckliss
Default

Do you have a link or more specs?
reckliss is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 08:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

get a Corsair XMS 2x1gb, and get the Opteron only if u no how to OC, if you dont get the 3800, dont get 4200 cause the cache is sh1t.
john3 is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 08:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 26
Default

is the 2mb cache really that much better? and my ram.. i dont have any specs just know its ddr400 and its not the ones with heatsink but its corsair
__________________

Kranky88 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.