Computer from SCRATCH need advice - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-22-2006, 05:37 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

Alright.... few idea's..
now talking from experience, the 10k RPM HDDs won't do that much better for MMOs and not worth the price.... get a decent 160GB+ HDD with 7200 RPM That will do FINE, theres just no such big deal aruond the 10k RPMs and they dont worth their price... yet, plus, get a good RAM like you want and you won't even need to utilize all the 10k RPM Data flow, lol.

Now about case, check this case out, its only for advanced users though, some people call it overkill but you said it yourself you'r gonna overclock..... not TOO stylish sadly but this is the BANG for
the buck XD, besides the not-so-good tool-less PCI Cards mechanism that all Tt's products suffer from, this case is flawless

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811133160

hmm, heres an idea for you, buy an DDR 400 motherboard and get a 2gigs of DDR 500 RAM, that is just AMAZING for overclockings..........

one last thing..... I just have to quote myself from another post...


Quote:
Originally posted by Yoad
Anyways.. why are you going for LCD? Just because they look fancy? The normal screens has a whole lot better resolutions for less price, and plus I own three LCD's and sorry for the waste of money every single day lol.. I had to send two of them to fix like three times since i bought them in less then 1 year, they usualy have 'burned' spots which the warranty doesnt cover [burned meaning they are either permanently white or blue or some sort of passive color that never switches... its REALLY annoying sometimes.....]

I'm not saying all of them are bad, but they live less than a regular screen, cost more and has less quality.... just my thoughts though so dont come and flame me people.
and then nitesticks response:

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
i agree with Yoad.


but make you'r own choices.
__________________

Yoad is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 06:25 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

I agree with Yoad, drop the Raptor, unless you're worried about a game loading 2 seconds faster than on a 7200RPM drive. Otherwise, what you have looks good.
__________________

__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 07:48 AM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

Yo, what you wanna do is, switch the Hard drive to 36GB Raptor, on ur budget you dont need a 74GB Raptor, and for like another $50 get a 80GB 7200 Caviar. For Ram you should get G.Skill 2x1GB Dual Channel Extreme series, its pC4000 which will allow you to OC very high. for CPu stick with the x2 3800+, but if ur OCing thats a bad mobo choice, for mobo get the MSI K8n NEo4-f. with the money you save from HD, try to get a 7900GT.
john3 is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 04:16 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24
Default

why would i get that ram if the mobo is pc3200?
is it still campatible?
also i have no experience in OC'ing just thought it would be cheaper to buy parts and OC
tkay is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 04:40 PM   #15 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

yes it is compatible, what would happen is that the Ram would get downclocked to PC 3200 speeds, BUT here is where it kicks in, when you OC, you will have 50Mhz to increase ur CPU WITHOUT having to do ANYTHING to the ram, maybe more. so that is approximately equivalent to about 550-700Mhz worth of speed without touching the ram.
john3 is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 05:02 PM   #16 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

you'r processor should come w/ a thermal pad +heatsink... they should work OK. alot of people are fans of "Artic Silver 5" thermal paste, u can find it on newegg. if your looking for superior air cooling, combine the AS-5 above with Thermaltake's "Big Typhoon" http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835106061

that should keep u frosty
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 08:01 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

[QUOTE]Originally posted by Yoad
[B]Alright.... few idea's..
now talking from experience, the 10k RPM HDDs won't do that much better for MMOs and not worth the price.... get a decent 160GB+ HDD with 7200 RPM That will do FINE, theres just no such big deal aruond the 10k RPMs and they dont worth their price... yet, plus, get a good RAM like you want and you won't even need to utilize all the 10k RPM Data flow, lol.

Hogwash. Raptors inprove overall system performance. Your experience is a little flawed, I think. You may be right when it comes to playing games but I will never go back to a 7200rpm drive after running my raptors in RAID 0. It's like night and day!!!
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.