Computer requirements for Emulators..? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-03-2007, 02:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
smashedpumpkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 392
Default Computer requirements for Emulators..?

Well I'm sure many of you guys have messed with Super Nintendo and Nintendo 64 Emulators. Well on my old computer I ran a 512 ATI Radeon 1950 Graphics with 2 gigs of ram and an AMD x2 Dual 4200. The Nintendo Game cube emulator ran incredibly slow and couldn't handle the graphics. (Tried to play Super Smash Brothers)

My new computer has an Intel Q6600, 8 gigs of ram (Probably 4 to start), and two EVGA 8800GT sli Video Cards.

I was wondering what my computer could handle as for emulators. If I went out searching could my new PC which is top of the line handle an Xbox or possible an Xbox 360/Wii? Could it even handle a Nintendo Game Cube?

I'm sure with enough searching I can find the emulators and eventually some games. I just don't know if it'll be worth it. Let me know what you think.

Randy
__________________

__________________
“Fortune favors the brave.”
smashedpumpkins is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 03:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Computer requirements for Emulators..?

there are no 360/wii emulators yet....
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 05:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 142
Default Re: Computer requirements for Emulators..?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
there are no 360/wii emulators yet....
Yea, and why do you imply that the gamecube is more powerful than both?
jeller is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 07:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Computer requirements for Emulators..?

the emlator requirements are real low... i ran it on (Visualboy) on a p1 @ 200mhz, with 128mb RAM and an ATi Rage Card... and it was smooth..
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 08:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Computer requirements for Emulators..?

Quote:
the emlator requirements are real low... i ran it on (Visualboy) on a p1 @ 200mhz, with 128mb RAM and an ATi Rage Card... and it was smooth..
The good ol'days :happy:
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 09:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: Computer requirements for Emulators..?

If 360 emulators were available right now i think microsoft would have had something to say about their loss in sales lol
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 10:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: Computer requirements for Emulators..?

the gamecude emu runs slow only coz its not for computers they dont know how to read the data properly. coz i tryed to get it to work once.
__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 11:17 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 341
Default Re: Computer requirements for Emulators..?

ps2 emulators are also very buggy and won't run some games.
__________________
Current Build:
CPU: AMD x2 3800
Case: thermaltake tsunami
Ram: 2x1gb OCZ ddr4pc3200
GPU: 7800 GT
PSU: Antec 500w
Mobo: DFI lanparty
Rich_Franklin is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 11:18 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Poemaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 284
Default Re: Computer requirements for Emulators..?

hah funny thing is for the less you could buy a 360 wii and a gamecube but hey! PC Gaming is much better than console. Also whats with the 8gigs RAM? That is Extreme Overkill even 4gigs is unnecassary you're getting a 64bit OS right? otherwise your computer will only recognize 3.5gigs at most
Poemaster is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 12:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Computer requirements for Emulators..?

4gbs is worthwhile in VISTA in xp however it is a waste!!!!
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Along came a hub, a switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 21 01-10-2013 04:13 AM
A switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Networking Tips, Tricks & FAQ 10 04-10-2009 06:24 PM
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Serious computer problem. HeeRoMaKi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 71 07-28-2007 11:42 PM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.