computer perfomance - RAM? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-27-2006, 02:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Default computer perfomance - RAM?

ok so i recently purchased a x1950 pro graphics card to run FSX

my question is if i upgraded to 2gb ram would i see an increase in perfornace/FPS

also when i play the games some of the textures will render in a lower quality and then switch to a better quality 1 sec later...would upgarding my ram fix this

(is this a problem with my HDD, ram Cpu, or graphics ram)

<img src= border=0 alt="Free Image Hosting"></a>
TimBlanchard is offline  
Old 11-27-2006, 06:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475

It depends on how much memory the game is using. You must likely will see an improvement with 2GB RAM if you have it at high settings.

The hard drive can also slow it down due to the Page File and loading times. No matter what you're going to use Page file (unless you shut it off). It will be less of a problem once you get more memory though.

turtile is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 02:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 584

K im gonna install the full game on a samsung 320gb drive are samsung ok for speed is there anyway i can spped up the disk?
<img src= border=0 alt="Free Image Hosting"></a>
TimBlanchard is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 04:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
macdawg's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 813

2 gigs would help more with loading times, reducing stutter & smoothing things out, will have little impact on fps.

for hard drive performance, make sure you have a pagefile, disable indexing service & turn off indexing on the drive, in device mgr make tick optimize for performance, and defrag regularly.
macdawg is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 06:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 639

Well you would see a noticable change in loading times but not really too much in FPS. You would see a couple of extra FPS.

Also try overclocking your CPU. I have heard E6300's can get upto 3.2Ghz with stock cooling and voltages.
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3400Mhz
Asus P5B-E
Samsung 400 GB Sata II
Corsair XMS2 2GB DDR2 800 5-5-5-12
Zalman CNPS-9700 LED
Antec Nine Hundred
Hp W2207 22" Widescreen Monitor
Windows Vista Home Premium
Silverstone ST60F 600W PSU
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue Gaming Mouse
gmanych is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.