Computer not turning on - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-21-2006, 03:16 PM   #21 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 50
Default

I've started what you said and the mobo led lights up. I will tell you how I get on a bit later. Cheers.
__________________

dingledow is offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 05:34 PM   #22 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 50
Default

Hi!

With your help, I found that the mobo screws were screwed in too tight. This made contact with the metal inside case, making it unable to turn on. Or at least that's what I think was wrong with it - it was something to do with the screws. It is powering on, and I will inform you of any new problems I may have. Thanks for your help, and you've saved me a lot of money taking it somewhere to fix it.

Cheers!

Dave
__________________

dingledow is offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 06:51 PM   #23 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

That's scarry stuff to me!!! Did you use standoff's???????? of course you did,,, Right? I highly doubt it had anything to do with the screws. (but stranger things have happened, like it might be putting stress on a week trace or something like that) I bet you didn't have the psu atx connector all the way in, or you didn't have the extra 4pin connector in all the way. for future reference to test to see if the psu is toast just jump the light green wire (pin14) to any black wire in the 24pin atx mobo connector, then turn the switch on the psu on.
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 04:14 AM   #24 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

yeah... the screws can really mess up ur mobo.
That happened to my friend
alexsabree is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 05:10 AM   #25 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 50
Default

what type of screws do I use?
Do I use the brass coloured screws?
dingledow is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 05:11 AM   #26 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 50
Default

Will dabs.com accept a return if it doesn't work. I am about to see if it works when I put some screws in.
dingledow is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 06:00 AM   #27 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by FlashDude
Did you use standoff's???????? of course you did,,, Right?
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 06:43 AM   #28 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 50
Default

I used standoffs, but should I have used the circles under the standoffs?
__________________

dingledow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.