Computer not turning on - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-19-2006, 06:59 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 738
Default

Maybe you have a bad PSU.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ @2.6 ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
2gb Corsair XMS DDR400 RAM
ATI Radeon x1950xt
MSI RD480 Neo2 Crossfire Mobo
Western Digital 160gb SATA HDD
Fortron 450 watt PSU
KINGWIN SK-523BKP Case
Logitech MX518 Gaming Mouse
NeedAcpu is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 06:59 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 33
Default

most mobo's have a little green LED light, that's always on, as long as power is hooked up. if it's not on, then it's PSU related, or the mobo itself is fried.
__________________

Cryogenic is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 07:14 PM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 50
Default

What will i do if I can't get it fixed? Could I claim off the house insurance?
dingledow is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 07:16 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 33
Default

insurance ?

try finding out which part is causing the problem. try swapping out the PSU with a spare one, and see if that works. if it does, see if you can get a refund or replace the broken one, through the manufacturer. if u cant figure out what's wrong, i dunno...
Cryogenic is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 07:16 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 738
Default

Get what fixed? You should just get your PSU checked and if it doesnt work send it back and get your money back. Also it looks like an Antec True power II 550 watt would be better then that. Even though its 680 watts it only has 30 amps on the 12v
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ @2.6 ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
2gb Corsair XMS DDR400 RAM
ATI Radeon x1950xt
MSI RD480 Neo2 Crossfire Mobo
Western Digital 160gb SATA HDD
Fortron 450 watt PSU
KINGWIN SK-523BKP Case
Logitech MX518 Gaming Mouse
NeedAcpu is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 07:20 PM   #16 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 50
Default

Cheers. I've e mailed the people who I bought the psu from a few minutes ago so I'll post what they say sometime soon. It's brand new so I don't see why I shouldn't get my money back.
Thanks.
dingledow is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 03:51 PM   #17 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 50
Default

The psu has a 12 month warranty and they will let me return it. I hope to get a refund and get a better psu from somewhere else. Does anyone know how I can test to see if the psu is the problem, bearing in mind that I don't have a spare psu.
dingledow is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 04:03 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 33
Default

might try putting it into a different computer. i wouldnt, cause of the risk of frying stuff
Cryogenic is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 04:18 PM   #19 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Hang on..........(1)pull the mobo from the case and place it on an anti-static bag. Plug in the power supply with the heat sink/fan and the CPU installed. If you get the mobo to power on then you can start from there(you will need a power switch pulled form an old case or you can just look for the power LED to come on).. I'll explain what to do next if nothing powers on.....swap in another power supply. If nothing....you have either a bad mobo or CPU. I would also pull the heat sink and CPU from the mobo once it is removed on the anti static bag and make sure you didn't bend any pins during the install. (2) If the board powers on (LED or CPU/fan if you have a scavanged power switch) replace the mobo in the case and see if the heat sink and or mobo LED lights come on. If they do and you get a bunch of CPU beeps your in realy good shape now. (3) Start adding components starting with mem and the video card and continue until post fails and you have the culprit. It sounds to me, just from your description, that the motherbooard is bad. Intel CPU's are very rarely DOA and that PSU is rarely bad as well. Pleae let us know what happens.
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 04:43 PM   #20 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 50
Default

I will tell you how it goes soon. Thanks.
__________________

dingledow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.