computer not turning on - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-25-2006, 04:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 16
Default computer not turning on

this is my first time building a custom pc, I assembled it all correctly and its not turning on. It actually flashes on for a split second and then shuts off.

Heres my specs:

Case - APEVIA (ASPIRE) X-CRUISER-BK Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

CPU - E6600 2.4 G

CPU FAN - Zalman 9500

GPU - 7900GS

PSU - Rosewill 550W

Mobo - GIGABYTE GA-965G-DS3 Socket T (LGA 775)

Memory - G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2

Hard drive - Seagate 250GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0G
__________________

Matt23mm is offline  
Old 12-25-2006, 04:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

I am assuming that maybe your motherboard is grounding out on the case. Look around to make sure that the motherboard is not touching anything other then the little brass supports.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 12-25-2006, 05:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 16
Default

Yea it doesnt touch anything. I tryed unpluging all the wires except for the atx connector it still doesnt turn on
Matt23mm is offline  
Old 12-25-2006, 05:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Jumping_Bean514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 752
Send a message via AIM to Jumping_Bean514
Default

did you remember to plug in the 4/8 pin auxiliary connector?
Jumping_Bean514 is offline  
Old 12-25-2006, 05:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 16
Default

yea still not working. maybe the psu is broken
Matt23mm is offline  
Old 12-25-2006, 05:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Jumping_Bean514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 752
Send a message via AIM to Jumping_Bean514
Default

Does the motherboard have an LED on it thats suppose to turn on?
Jumping_Bean514 is offline  
Old 12-25-2006, 05:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 16
Default

no but the psu does
Matt23mm is offline  
Old 12-25-2006, 05:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Jumping_Bean514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 752
Send a message via AIM to Jumping_Bean514
Default

I would take your psu out and put it into another computer to see if it can power it up or atleast run a DVD drive or something.
__________________

Jumping_Bean514 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.