computer newb here - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Old 11-03-2005, 10:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Default computer newb here

im not going ot lie i dont know **** about computers and i just cant take playing my games on my parents computer. Its slow sucks *** and is full of bull**** programs. My little brother is always apple bobbing it up. Im really newb to the PC world but i have been playing online games for about 7 years now. I am looking to build my own computer but i do not really know anyhtign about the parts. I read reviews but it all looks like a bunch of mumbo jumbo to me. I would really appriciate it if somone could give me the basics of what i need. I am not looking to spend tons of $ on this. Looking to spend 1-1.5 k on it. I would like to be able to play more current games but my piece of poop dell just cant keep up with the new games. Please help me with a list of basic things i should know and if possible give me some advice on what to buy. thank you.

Old 11-03-2005, 02:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie

well if you dont wanna learn all the mumbo jumo, just get us to make a list of parts.. buy them and read a walkthought on how to put a computer together.

You will also need to know how to install windows,drivers and all the other stuff.

Old 11-03-2005, 03:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH

MSI K8N NEO4-F, no need for a DFI sense hes a computer newb lol
Cosair valueselect 1GB 512*2, no need for good ram
Seagate Barracuda 80GB sata150 hdd
Antec Sonata II case
antec truepower 500W power supply
eVGA 7800GT
Amd Athlon 64 3700+
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
Old 11-03-2005, 03:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie

Since you sound like you're into games, here's some tips on each component you will need:

CPU: get an AMD Athlon 64 model, preferrably the Venice or San Diego core