computer newb here

Status
Not open for further replies.

Talis

Baseband Member
im not going ot lie i dont know shit about computers and i just cant take playing my games on my parents computer. Its slow sucks ass and is full of bullshit programs. My little brother is always apple bobbing it up. Im really newb to the PC world but i have been playing online games for about 7 years now. I am looking to build my own computer but i do not really know anyhtign about the parts. I read reviews but it all looks like a bunch of mumbo jumbo to me. I would really appriciate it if somone could give me the basics of what i need. I am not looking to spend tons of $ on this. Looking to spend 1-1.5 k on it. I would like to be able to play more current games but my piece of poop dell just cant keep up with the new games. Please help me with a list of basic things i should know and if possible give me some advice on what to buy. thank you.

well if you dont wanna learn all the mumbo jumo, just get us to make a list of parts.. buy them and read a walkthought on how to put a computer together.

You will also need to know how to install windows,drivers and all the other stuff.

MSI K8N NEO4-F, no need for a DFI sense hes a computer newb lol
Cosair valueselect 1GB 512*2, no need for good ram
Seagate Barracuda 80GB sata150 hdd
Antec Sonata II case
antec truepower 500W power supply
eVGA 7800GT
Amd Athlon 64 3700+

K...

Since you sound like you're into games, here's some tips on each component you will need:

CPU: get an AMD Athlon 64 model, preferrably the Venice or San Diego core

Motherboard: DFI brand, preferrably the Lanparty series, the SLI option is probably not necessary

Edit: ya the above guy is right, you prob won't need a DFI, just get a MSI or a Gigabyte then. Make sure all your other components are compatible with your motherboard.