Computer dust - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-24-2007, 02:29 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default

....Shame... You need to keep your pc's dust free!

I've worked on a few though that hadn't ever been cleaned before, That was in a really dusty room... You spend hour's just trying to get through it to see a mother board.
An even after you clean it the best you can it leave's it looking very dirty. Shame how people can mistreat something so great as their computer.
__________________

augest is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 02:39 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 235
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by augest
....Shame... You need to keep your pc's dust free!

I've worked on a few though that hadn't ever been cleaned before, That was in a really dusty room... You spend hour's just trying to get through it to see a mother board.
An even after you clean it the best you can it leave's it looking very dirty. Shame how people can mistreat something so great as their computer.
haha yeah ive seen similar. One guy had a P4 of some description, and i turned the thing on from a cold start, and it was running at 84degrees in BIOS! Im surprised the fan was still spinning with all the dust in there. I found it really funny though how it hadn't died. Needless to say, he sold the system shortly after to his mate. It still hadn't been cleaned.
__________________

plant is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 03:56 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default

LOL Poor guy... Yeah I know fan's will end up stopping sometime's if a big chunk get's stuck in it.
All that heat build up really does a number on the hardware.
augest is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 05:28 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
jspot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 169
Default

Funny I have also used a vacuum for years and never had a proble .. but I do use the canned aired for the fans
__________________
<a href="http://photobucket.com" target="_blank"><img src="http://i126.photobucket.com/albums/p117/jspot1012/AthlonX2-1.jpg" border="0" alt="Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket"></a>
jspot is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 05:55 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 337
Default

I usually spray with compressed air and hold a vac hose half a foot away or so to pick up whatever the air knocks loose. If you don't want to clean as much you could always put filters on it. Or go watercooling and have a completely closed system :-o
Jrod is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 06:05 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by augest
LOL Poor guy... Yeah I know fan's will end up stopping sometime's if a big chunk get's stuck in it.
All that heat build up really does a number on the hardware.
Yeah lol the pc i'm typing on at my dad's house gets neglected badly. The fans no longer operate due to the dust. I refuse to fix the problem because I want this system to die so they can go buy a e6300 or X2 rig from best buy
__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 09:18 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 8
Default

I once had an expendable motherboard that I was curious to know if it would still work if I washed it in water and soap... so I did it and tested it the next day to let it dry completely and it still worked just fine.... but I would not recommend that method hahaha.
frostman79 is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 09:28 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default

No that's really not safe. LOL
augest is offline  
Old 02-25-2007, 07:33 PM   #19 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,732
Default

you could use compressed air, or an antistatic cloth( I bought oneat Fry's for like 15 bucks and its washable), or get a anti-static vacum(sometimes called a computer vac),or those disposable wi[es at wal-mart(do not use baby wipes), i prefer to take everything out and wipe it clean myself except of coure for hard to reach areas
TheEnd187 is offline  
Old 02-25-2007, 09:45 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
plumber4578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to plumber4578 Send a message via MSN to plumber4578
Default

http://www.microsoft.com/athome/more...ncomputer.mspx
__________________

__________________
My puter:
MOBO - ASUS P5W DH DELUXE
CPU - INTEL Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
VIDEO - EVGA 8800 GTX
MEM - 4 GB (1BGX4) G.SKILL PC2 6400
PSU - CORSAIR 620WATT
HD - 2 SAMSUNG 500GB 7200 RPM
OS - Windows Vista 64Bit
plumber4578 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.