computer busted :( - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2014, 09:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Confederate States of America
Posts: 14
Default computer busted :(

I unfortunately tried to hook my TV up to my computer using hdmi. Unfortunately when I hooked up my computer to the TV and turned it on, it didn't show up on screen. Worse, it started turning itself off and on, I kept attempting to restart it but it wouldn't restart. Eventually I had to turn off the psu to finally turn off. Now it's totally dead and doesn't light up. How odd. I thinking it might be that can psu I bought. Any thoughts?
__________________

tristanjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2014, 09:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,308
Default Re: computer busted :(

What's your PSU?
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2014, 09:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Confederate States of America
Posts: 14
Default Re: computer busted :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
What's your PSU?
Cx 600 from corsair. The one you told me not to get lol. But I had no idea it would blow up in my face.
tristanjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2014, 09:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,308
Default Re: computer busted :(

I doubt it did that. Was the computer running before fine? You smell anything funny when this happened? Have you tried putting your old card back in or use the onboard video?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2014, 10:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Confederate States of America
Posts: 14
Default Re: computer busted :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
I doubt it did that. Was the computer running before fine? You smell anything funny when this happened? Have you tried putting your old card back in or use the onboard video?
It was running fine yesterday until I plugged the hdmi from the card to the tv today. I didn't try starting it up today until i plugged the TV into it. haven't tried running my old video card but I took out the new card and tried to turn it on. The light on the motherboard lit up and the on button was steady orange and wouldn't start. I didn't smell anything but to be honest I don't smell as well as I used to and I stink from work. I hope the Amazon/manufacturer warranty for the card covers this lol.

If it's any good info I did have to bend down and remove the rubber protector over the hdmi. Also had the via plugged in at the same time but not hooked to the monitor.
tristanjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2014, 10:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,308
Default Re: computer busted :(

Take the card out and plug your old monitor back into the IGP to see if it will come up.
Not shutting down is a good sign.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2014, 10:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Confederate States of America
Posts: 14
Default Re: computer busted :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Take the card out and plug your old monitor back into the IGP to see if it will come up.
Not shutting down is a good sign.
It doesn't start at all anymore. It's dead completely. My biggest hope at this point is that I can rule out my graphics card as the problem and can just return my psu. I might try to put my old psu in tomorrow. Do you think if I fried it Amazon would take it back? Worst case scenario I have to buy a new 1500 dollar pc. Which sucks Hardcore but maybe the good Lord is sending me a message to read a book instead.
tristanjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2014, 10:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,308
Default Re: computer busted :(

If it died like that odds have it it went into protection before. Like I said though, you need to troubleshoot. Take the card out and try it, try the other PSU without the GPU. Rule out things before drawing conclusions.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 12:05 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Confederate States of America
Posts: 14
Default Re: computer busted :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
If it died like that odds have it it went into protection before. Like I said though, you need to troubleshoot. Take the card out and try it, try the other PSU without the GPU. Rule out things before drawing conclusions.


Hmm I added my old hardware in and my old psu and although it shows a light on my motherboard it doesn't turn on. What could that mean? It's not just the psu?
tristanjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 12:08 AM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,308
Default Re: computer busted :(

You running the built in graphics with no GPU in the slot?
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Static Electricity, Busted Computer Help~ JTBNDY Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-31-2006 08:18 PM
busted screen on Nokia 6610, worth fixing? Johnny_45 Phones, Tablets, and other Handheld Devices 1 11-03-2004 11:54 PM
Need solution for busted PS2 mobo ports pogs Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 11-01-2004 08:02 AM
Sasser Creator Busted! Erstad Off Topic Discussion 5 05-12-2004 12:17 PM
PIC of CPU ( PC Beep Help after PS busted out! Voltage Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 12-26-2003 08:22 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.