Computer Build, Need input/help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-10-2006, 09:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 95
Default Computer Build, Need input/help!

Casing: RAIDMAX RX-9 GT Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower
Power Supply: AeroCool ZERODBA 620W
Motherboard: MSI Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 SLI X16 ATX
Processor: AMD Athlon 64 FX60 Toledo w/ Dual Core + Hyper Transport
Video Card: Dual eVGA Geforce 7900GTX 512MB
Memory: Corsair XMS - 2 x 1GB
Hard Drive: Western Digital Raptor 150GB, 16MB Cache, Serial ATA-150, 10,000 RPM
Sound Card: Creative Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS Platinum 7.1 Channels 24-bit 192KHz
Media Card Reader: LINKSKEY 19-in-1 USB 2.0 Black
CPU Fan/Heatsink: ZALMAN LED 2 Ball Blue LED Light Cooling Fan/Heatsin
Casing Fan: AeroCool 120mm Sleeve Case Cooling Fan
Grand Total: 3,293.92 (priced on newegg)

This is the computer I want to put together but I want to save the most money possible. Should I scrap the soundcard since the MB has audigy chip built in? Whats the performance difference if I went with Dual 7900GT instead of GTX? Any thoughts on the Amd x2 chips? I'm a 3rd year computer engineering student and want to put this computer together over the summer, any input would be greatly appreciated! If you foresee any conflicts let me know thanks.

Mike
__________________

updawg is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 09:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 236
Default Re: Computer Build, Need input/help!

You say you want to save money??

Well that is a pretty sweet system there man, cant see any problems here.

I'm not sure about SLI, but when compared as single cards, the 7900GT keeps up with the GTX in some benchmarks.

Personally I feel 2xGTX's is overkill, and a waste of money, especially as the G80's are coming soon. If you wanna save money, i'd stick with a single GTX which is more than enough power for a long time, especially with that CPU *wipes drool*.

Anyways, good luck
__________________

__________________

Main Rig
/// Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 at 3.8 ghz /// 512MB Nvidia 7900GT Gainward Golden Sample \'Goes Like **** Edition\' /// OCZ 2GB (2 x 1GB) PC5300 Dual Channel Gold GX XTC Series /// Intel Extreme D975bx-304 975X Mobo /// 2x Western Digital Raptor X 150GB in RAID 0 /// OCZ GameXStream 700w Silent SLI Ready ATX2 Power Supply ///
Light Rig : /// Intel Core 2 DUO E6300 /// Intel DP965LT 965 (Socket 775) PCI-Express DDR2 Motherboard /// Corsair 2GB DDR2 Value Select PC5300 /// Sapphire ATI Radeon X1900 GT 256MB ///
LU4sTrooper is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 09:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 95
Default

Thanks for your input, i think i'll just get a single gtx and get one down the road if I feel like splurging, but what do you think about the cpu should I just overclock an x2 or go with the fx60? Opinions?
updawg is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 09:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 95
Default

I hate to reply to my own topic so much, but whats the best mobo gpu combo, bang for buck? I read many poor reviews about the asus a8 - anyone? I'm really debating going single gpu and then upgrading to the g80? I'm working this summer and plan on dumping 2-3k into a computer.. so any solid advice would be greatly appreciated!
updawg is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 09:58 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 236
Default

In reply to your CPU question, I've heard alot of good things about the Opteron, and how people have managed to OC them from 1.8ghz to 2.8ghz on air cooling. But i still think the FX-60 will beat the *kitten* out of that.

I would definately go single GPU until the G80's are released, SLI now would be a waste of money.
__________________

Main Rig
/// Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 at 3.8 ghz /// 512MB Nvidia 7900GT Gainward Golden Sample \'Goes Like **** Edition\' /// OCZ 2GB (2 x 1GB) PC5300 Dual Channel Gold GX XTC Series /// Intel Extreme D975bx-304 975X Mobo /// 2x Western Digital Raptor X 150GB in RAID 0 /// OCZ GameXStream 700w Silent SLI Ready ATX2 Power Supply ///
Light Rig : /// Intel Core 2 DUO E6300 /// Intel DP965LT 965 (Socket 775) PCI-Express DDR2 Motherboard /// Corsair 2GB DDR2 Value Select PC5300 /// Sapphire ATI Radeon X1900 GT 256MB ///
LU4sTrooper is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 09:59 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Chazzer3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North West, UK
Posts: 449
Send a message via AIM to Chazzer3
Default

I think you'd be better oc'ing an opty or an x2, for money purposes, but if money isn't a major issue you may as well go with the FX-60

Also a great mobo is a DFI n4 or an MSI K8N Neo4-f which is what I have and it is really nice.

Otherwise, good luck, looks great!

Charlie -
Chazzer3 is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 10:01 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 430
Send a message via AIM to tehdigit
Default

you should probably go with a motherboard with 2 x16 slots

most sli boards only run your cards at a combined x16 which only utilizes about 1/4 of the 2nd cards power.

buy an ASUS a8n32 or Abit also supplies one that runs at combinded x32

it will be worth your investment because when it comes down to buying a 2nd gpu you will be able to depend on increased performance
__________________
Jordan
#nTi
Nothing to It
@gamesurge.net
Sponsored by Subway, Steel Series, XFire, Xsessive Hosting

<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/6241/userbar543957wu.gif><A>
<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/1992/userbar544009id.gif><A>
tehdigit is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 10:04 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 95
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130037

thats the mobo i'm looking at it does have 2 x16 slots
updawg is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 10:07 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 430
Send a message via AIM to tehdigit
Default

it has 2 x16 slots but they run together at x16

its hard to explain
but there are motherboards that run 2 x16 slots but they run at x32 which utilizes the power of both
ill show you

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...&Go.x=0&Go.y=0

they are x32 combined thus their name
__________________
Jordan
#nTi
Nothing to It
@gamesurge.net
Sponsored by Subway, Steel Series, XFire, Xsessive Hosting

<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/6241/userbar543957wu.gif><A>
<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/1992/userbar544009id.gif><A>
tehdigit is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 10:08 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 430
Send a message via AIM to tehdigit
Default

i know nothing about the abit so i would go with asus if i were you

I have the asus and its an amazing board. it has the copper heatsink which brings down the heat like no other and its just **** cool looking
__________________

__________________
Jordan
#nTi
Nothing to It
@gamesurge.net
Sponsored by Subway, Steel Series, XFire, Xsessive Hosting

<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/6241/userbar543957wu.gif><A>
<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/1992/userbar544009id.gif><A>
tehdigit is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.