computer build - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-19-2006, 04:08 PM   #21 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Jumping_Bean514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 752
Send a message via AIM to Jumping_Bean514
Default

If you get that case from zipzoom instead of newegg you will save $25 shipping and the power supply is better to get from zipzoom aswell for the same reasons. Also, 2x 250gig hardrives are cheaper and much faster then 1x 500 gig.
__________________

__________________
Jumping_Bean514 is offline  
Old 11-19-2006, 04:16 PM   #22 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 19
Default

so i will need raid.
__________________

__________________
ventureman is offline  
Old 11-19-2006, 04:27 PM   #23 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Jumping_Bean514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 752
Send a message via AIM to Jumping_Bean514
Default

the raid controller is built into the motherboard. That monitor has a slower refresh rate and has a lower resolution as the other one if you care about that. if you spend allot of money on a graphics card you should get a monitor that has a high resolution.
__________________
Jumping_Bean514 is offline  
Old 11-19-2006, 04:31 PM   #24 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 19
Default

so the first one you picked is a good monitor also what is the difference between the pny 8800gtx and the regular 8800 gtx.
__________________
ventureman is offline  
Old 11-19-2006, 04:34 PM   #25 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,732
Default

all the 8800GTX's are clocked the same as of now because Nvidia Didn't want them two except for the cooler on it it shouldn't make much of a difference many people like EvGa, But i prefer bfg or gainward. also the dominator ram is for the extreme overclocker you problaly wouldn't need it just go for jumpingbeans suggestion
__________________
TheEnd187 is offline  
Old 11-19-2006, 04:39 PM   #26 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 19
Default

ok so now that i have everything straightened out i have to decide to build or have someone build it for me do you think i could buld it or should i let some one whos done it before do it.
__________________
ventureman is offline  
Old 11-19-2006, 04:45 PM   #27 (permalink)
I poop on the rug
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,218
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ventureman
ok so now that i have everything straightened out i have to decide to build or have someone build it for me do you think i could buld it or should i let some one whos done it before do it.
i was the same when i first started.. if you take your time and read guides... its incredibly easy, i just started building last year... and now, i'm rearranging my case and my friends case all the time... its incredibly easy, literally plugging things in and thats it.. the only thing thats not so obvious is hooking up case usb ports and audio and power button and such, for that you'll actually need the manual

other than that, its easy as pie
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 8700k | 16GB G.skill Trident Z | Z370 Gigabyte Auros Gaming Extreme |
Asus GTX1080 Strix | Corsair H100i V2 | Corsair 750D | Corsair RM850X
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 11-19-2006, 04:47 PM   #28 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 19
Default

thanks im pretty sure im going to build it myself but i was also wondering how many usb ports that mobo has.
__________________
ventureman is offline  
Old 11-19-2006, 04:48 PM   #29 (permalink)
I poop on the rug
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,218
Default

i think it was only 4

*edit*

sorry its got 6
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 8700k | 16GB G.skill Trident Z | Z370 Gigabyte Auros Gaming Extreme |
Asus GTX1080 Strix | Corsair H100i V2 | Corsair 750D | Corsair RM850X
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 11-19-2006, 04:49 PM   #30 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 19
Default

ok is there any other way to add more.
__________________

__________________
ventureman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.