Computer Build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-29-2006, 03:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to Slayer
Default Computer Build

I am building a computer within the next month. If you see anything wrong with the list please tell me (eg this part doenst work well with that one, compatibility issues) I am also lookin for advice on what processor to get. (wich cores are better than others? difference between AMD X2 and AMD Dual Core?)

The computer will be for gaming, but I can't afford SLI or Crossfire, but having the option to upgrade to it would be nice. The Vid card will need enough power to handle 2 monitors; a 17inch CRT and a 26inch LCD HDTV (are videocards doing HDMI yet?)

Also, would I get better performance from a single 10000 rpm hard drive, or 2 7200 rpm's in raid 0?

OK, here's the list, please improve it for me. Keep in mind this computer will be running Windows Vista. Please try to keep it in the same price range, but im more interested in getting more bang for my buck than overal price. Pick away.

Lian Li ATX Case

Antec SmartPower 2.0 500W Power Supply

DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D

AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+

Corsair XMS 2GB Dual Channel DDR400

ATI Radeon X1800XT 256MB GDDR3

Samsung DVD Burner

Western Digital Raptor 74GB 10,000 RPM

Zalman Heatsink w/ fan

OK thats all the major components, do what u all do best.
I already have an audigy 2 zs and nice speaker system, so the audio part is covered.

Slayer is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 04:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841

I am not sure which gives the better performance, the RAID 0 or the 10,000 RPM. I would personally go for the RAID 0 with the 7200RPM's though for the large amount of space. I would personally get a 7900GT and do a volt mod on it for a good performance increase, but if you aren't up to that, choose which card you like best out of the two, because they're about equilivent in performance and price.

For the CPU, I suggest going for an Opteron 165. It's cheaper and provides double the L2 cache. You will have no problem overclocking it way beyond the 4200's speed, thus get more performance for less price.

For RAM, compare that Corsair with the OCZ and G.SKILL RAM in the same price range, as I find them to be better brands and recommend them over the Corsair.

And the PSU. I have that in my build. It is extremely convenient when it comes to wiring your case, because it has no extra wires lying around due to being modular. It'd handle that build, but I'm not sure if it'd leave much growing room.

NathanM is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 07:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130

the corsair is fine. but yeah changed the cpu, the 4200+ has half the cache of other cpus but it just isnt worth it, get the Opteron 170, its cheaper and better.
john3 is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 07:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

go with the RAID 0 as it will perform better and have greater storage capacity, although there is less chance of data loss with the single raptor. the 4200+ is a waste of money, you should look at the x2 3800+ or opterons 165 and 170.

edit: consider overclocking. if you are uncertain then you should drop a post in the overclocking section and someone will be more than happy to answer your questions, just be prepared to do some research as no one is going to feel like giving you a crash course when there is information available everywhere.
Visit my website -
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 11:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to dipique

For the CPU I'd go to the 4400+ and overclock instead of overclocking an Opteron. For the HD, go with the 7200rpm drives but make sure they're SATAII. Other than that, I like it.

dipique is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 11:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992

DFI boards dont like corsair at all.

neither with kingston.

Stick with OCZ, G.SKILL, Crucial, Mushkin, and Patriot

Originally posted by dipique
For the CPU I'd go to the 4400+ and overclock instead of overclocking an Opteron.

Care to Emphasize?

Opterons Over clock better and usually have better steppings...I would go with the opteron in this case.

You may not want to overclock. but there are two types of people.

1 Once they over clock, it "pumps" them up and they see if they can go farther. They go as far as there consiouce desires.

2 They Over clock and drop there gloves and say thats it. They Overclock a little and are happy with there results but dont feel the need to go farther.

So I advise getting the opteron.

Its really not hard to get that to 2.2 at all, wich is the equivalint to the X2 4400+. Honestly.

And if you want to go higher, if your lucky and get a good stepping your looking at 2.8 GHz and 3.0 if your really lucky.

You cant lose if you get the opteron

May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 01:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to Slayer

yes i have considered overclocking, and will look to other places to get more info on that. the only issue with that would be cooling. is it possible to overclock with air cooling? I really dont want to overclock unless I can get a noticeable performance gain without losing stability. and fyi i would be the second type of person. once this thing is built I wont be doing a lot of tinkering with it.

I will look into the OCZ memory, i know they are better at overclocking and someone mentioned corsair not liking DFI for some reason.

I'm still up in the air on the hard drives. I know there are raid controller cards, but do i need to get one? can my mobo do raid0, and how well? is it easy to set up?

Intel P4 @ 2.0 Ghz 400fsb
512mb Corsair XMS dual channel ddr400
Radeon 9800 XT 256mb
40 & 60 gig wd hd\'s
Audigy 2 ZS THX
Logitech 5.1 280watts rms sound THX
Slayer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.