compuer turns on then imediatley crashs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-10-2005, 01:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to zacattack
Default compuer turns on then imediatley crashs

well i just finished puting together my computer with a few friends and when i hit the button to turn it on all the fans spin for a second then everything shuts off. then i need to unplug the computer for about 5 seconds then it can turn on for a second again

me and my friends checked the everything a few times andeverything seems right the only thing we could think of is the cpu.
it went in fine but when we were puting on the heatsink and fan the little square of grease (or w.e it is) was touched by my friend and alittle part of the corner rubbed on to my friend's hand.

the power supply is 450w
the mobo is an ecs nforce4 a939
i got 2x512 dual channel ram pc3200
the power supply is a 20 pin connector but the mobo claims to support 20 or 24 pins
i also have thec ati x800gt256mb gcard

what could be wrong??

thanks for the help
__________________

zacattack is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 11:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 158
Default

my first thought would be the power supply, size seems fine, maybe its not working properly. Check all your jumpers ect..

take out every expansion card possible, so that you have only whats neccessary to run the system unit. One stick of ram in if you have more than that, etc.....

If it boots stable, then reinstall expansion cards one at a time until you find the problem. It could be a improperly installed card, or not pushed all the way in. I think you normally get a CPU error if the cpu is bad, but thats not always.

From what your describing, really sounds like the psu.

Does it POST?
__________________

sCribes is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 11:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 506
Default

Also, make sure the 4pin 12 volt is plugged in too. When I was building my computer, I forgot to plug that in and when I turned on the pc to test it, the fans and lights came on for about 5 seconds then it would just die.
cedjunior is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 02:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 158
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cedjunior
Also, make sure the 4pin 12 volt is plugged in too. When I was building my computer, I forgot to plug that in and when I turned on the pc to test it, the fans and lights came on for about 5 seconds then it would just die.

Good call man......i would second that idea.
sCribes is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 06:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 136
Default

WTF my 4pin on my 20 pin is not connected and is working fine.
i had problems of crashing when i had it in.
my older psu had just 20 pins so i figured it was no big deal
__________________
1GB PC3200 DDR400 RAM
Intel Pentium 4 540J HT 3.2 GHz
ASUS X800LX 256 (OC 415/500)
---------------------------------------------
3Dmark05: 4987][3Dmark03:11043
Cellbuster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.