Compressed air - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-11-2006, 02:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default Compressed air

OK well my dads friend has a computer that is overheating well I was thinking about using my compressed air generator instead of canned air to get the dust out. Can I do that?
__________________

__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 02:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

You could do it, but make sure that the pressure isn't too great, otherwise it might damage a part.
__________________

Vybuni is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 02:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 211
Send a message via Yahoo to JohnnyX
Default

Also make sure theres no moisture in it, use it on a piece of paper first.
__________________
The enemy of my enemy might just be my enemy…
JohnnyX is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 02:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

ok cool thanks.
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 03:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

IMO you are wasting money on the can, I use a paintbrush (not nylon, cloth) and be careful with it. I haven't lost my motherboard yet and either has my friend who told me about using a brush and he hates dust in his PC, he cleans it every 2 weeks or so (and puts me to shame.)
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 04:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default

I use a vacum cleaner. Never had a problem at all.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 01:39 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
ulater6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 757
Send a message via AIM to ulater6000 Send a message via Yahoo to ulater6000
Default

I wouldnt advise using a house vacum cleaner, they can generate static electricity that damage your components. Although it is unlikely this will happen it is still extremely possible. So go ahead if you want, but personaly Im not willing to risk ruining big $ of components.

Note: They make speacial vacum cleaners for pc's that dont generate as much static. but u guys proably already know that.

;p
__________________
CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, Cisco CCENT, Cisco CCNA Routing & Switching
ulater6000 is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 02:23 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default

honestly i think canned is still the best for its practicalliy i say that because its not bad, the pressure is perfect it small gets inbetween somethings a air compressor cant when you turn the pressure down, its only like 5-7$ usd last long enough to make 2-3 good cleans and about 20 touchupslooks good too to have it on your desk to show you care, and you dont have to lug your case out of your room or whereever and just vacuum the dust off your carpet later. theyre decent little nifty tools IMO
__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 02:25 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

I have never cleaned my pc in my life... is that bad????
I mean like every 2 years i will, but i never have problems
alexsabree is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 04:35 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

We clean our PC's regualy because we have windows in our case so when someone comes in the first thing they will say is your PC is well dusty.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.