complete noob wanting to build my first comp - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-08-2005, 06:54 PM   #31 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13
Default

OK instead of a gaming PC how about just a computer that i will use for graphics design and thats it. hope that saves me money. i no longer want a gaming pc so only one for graphics design
__________________

hyperlite89 is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 07:19 PM   #32 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 563
Default

How much are you willing to spend?
__________________

__________________
PcMe is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 07:22 PM   #33 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13
Default

$600-$700 or cheaper if possible
hyperlite89 is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 09:08 PM   #34 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13
Default

I have a Dell dimension 2400(yes i know dells are ****) is there anything i can re-use when i make my new comp?
hyperlite89 is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 10:18 PM   #35 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13
Default

optical drive:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827106995
Hard drive:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144701
memory:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145526
Motherboard:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813186011
cpu:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819116178
video card:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814142052
case:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811105144
Is everything listed here compatible?
What will i be able to do with this setup?
the total comes out to $634 without tax and shipping.
hyperlite89 is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 02:29 AM   #36 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13
Default

Please I need to knwo if all those things are compatible
hyperlite89 is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 02:43 AM   #37 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Well you have DDR2 RAM, but your motherboard only supports DDR, gotta fix that.
Since your Hard Drive is SATAII and your Motherboard only has SATA150, you could get a cheaper hard drive that is SATA150. The one you have selected will work, just no point in spending the extra $$ for no increase in performance.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144154
You may want to get a cheaper case and get a better PSU, one that doesnt come with the case cuz they are ****. Get a 400W fortron. You could also use the case from your dell if you really dont care about how it looks, but from the case you chose, you probably do.
You could also use the optical drive from the dell too if it isnt ****.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 02:56 AM   #38 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 378
Default

By graphics design do you mean stuff like Photoshop? If so, go heavier on the processor and get a cheapie graphics card. Also, you'll want a better motherboard. That case you posted also comes with a power supply, which means the power supply probably sucks .. but since you're not gaming or overclocking I guess it would work. It'd be better to get the case and power supply separately, though (unless you get an Antec case). Try this stuff:

MSI K8N Neo4-F socket 939 motherboard
$80

AMD Athlon 3500+ CPU
$200

1GB Crucial ValueSelect DDR400
$75

Ledtek GeForce 6200TC 64-bit - make sure it's 64-bit, not 32-bit. This card should be pretty darn good for the money.
$60

The optical and hard drives you posted are fine.

This setup should be about the same price as the one you posted, but it's MUCH better for your purposes. You DON'T want that processor, trust me. That was a good processor two years ago. How much of that posted stuff is from the Dell?
__________________
ilovesocks is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 03:49 AM   #39 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13
Default

none of that stuff was form the dell
hyperlite89 is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 11:35 AM   #40 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default

yeah also the graphics card and mobo arnt compatible the mobo is agp and the card is pci x16, what ilovesocks said the mobo and cpu should be good but if you want to save up jus alittle more or talk your parents into letting you get a 6600GT which is 60-100 more depending on what brand, you can get a good brand for 125 (after 20$ rebate) evga
or a 125$ with no rebate chaintech tho im not sure of the performance quality or the life expectancy of the chaintech card. these card ive listed are compatible with the mobo ilovesocks had mentioned to you which is the msi mobo
but if you had went with your original socket 478 mobo which is agp youd need to to switch video cards.
__________________

æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.