Complete My Gaming Rig - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-06-2006, 04:47 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
macdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 813
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822136012

2 150 gig raptors in raid zero would be amazing, but expensive.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822136062

2 of these hard drives would give you 320 gb of storage and I think I read that with raid that two good sata 3.0 hard drives is still a little faster than a single raptor, making it the logical choice.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131028

ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP Socket T (LGA 775) Intel P965 Express ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

that would be the mobo I would pick.
__________________

macdawg is offline  
Old 10-06-2006, 11:09 AM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 85
Default

THanks for the insight macdawg, that mobo was actually the one I've been looking at for the last week, it dropped in price $20 since then so I will most likely get it.

As for 2 HDs in RAID, is there anything I have to do to setup RAID? I'm sure it's not as easy as hooking both up and just running the machine.

edit: Another thing, I am a bit ignorant with the hype over these fast HDs, do I really need a super fast HD for my computer if my main focus is just gaming? Will it have an impact on my gameplay at all? Or is this just a matter of being able to load a program a tad bit faster than normal?
__________________

norcal313 is offline  
Old 10-06-2006, 12:01 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 230
Default

norcal, as for mobo, get the asus p5b deluxe non wifi version for $182
http://www.ewiz.com/detail.php?name=MB-P5B-DX

OR... act fast on this one, the asus p5w dh for $220
http://www.monarchcomputer.com/Merch...ct_Code=110710
I went to the Monarchcomputer store on Wednesday and they had 1 left, so give them a call if you want that board.

or get the best, the asus p5w64ws pro for $287
http://www.ewiz.com/detail.php?name=MB-P5W64WS
^that price for that board is a great deal

or get the abit aw9d max for $240 (out of stock though)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813127011
__________________
C2D E6600 @ 3.15ghz w/ 1.35 vcore
Abit AW9D-MAX
Scythe Infinity
2GB G.Skill DDR2-800 (4-4-4-12)
XFX 7600GT xXx
Silverstone Tj-06
Drizo is offline  
Old 10-06-2006, 12:19 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by norcal313

As for 2 HDs in RAID, is there anything I have to do to setup RAID? I'm sure it's not as easy as hooking both up and just running the machine.

edit: Another thing, I am a bit ignorant with the hype over these fast HDs, do I really need a super fast HD for my computer if my main focus is just gaming? Will it have an impact on my gameplay at all? Or is this just a matter of being able to load a program a tad bit faster than normal?
Yes, refer to the boards manual on how to set up RAID.
You will also need the RAID Drivers ready when you install windows.

The basic process is this. Enable RAID through CMOS. Enter RAID Setup Utility, Select what Level RAID then Add both Drives to the Array. Then Start settings up windows, windows will request the RAID Drivers. At this screen you incert the floppy or disc they are on. You can also intergrate the Drivers into the OS using Nlite.

Raptors are not needed. Two SATA Drives w/16 MB cache's is more then enough. But if you have the money then theres no reason not to buy raptors, just make sure they have their own cooling.

Please Remember that RAID 0 IS NOT fault tolerant therefore you will need to back up important Data Often.
Ste is offline  
Old 10-06-2006, 12:29 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 85
Default

Drizo, some of those boards seem like overkill for my other components. I'm really not in-the-know when it comes to computers so enlighten me as to which is the better choice for my money. Thanks for those listings, I appreciate the suggestions.

I will most likely upgrade my vid card down the road to one of the new generation cards, or I may go SLI...
norcal313 is offline  
Old 10-06-2006, 12:35 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 230
Default

The p5w-dh deluxe is the best option if you plan on going SLI down the road, (SLI isn't officially supported, you'll have to use hacked drivers). The Abit AW9D-Max, which includes a SLI bridge (again not officially supported, but bridge doesn't require the hacked drivers), but the board has a terrible layout so if you have an SLI configuration, you won't be able to use a 3rd party sound card such as the X-fi. The board comes with a audiomax sound card which is okay, but if you plan on playing games like BF2 then you'll want to get an X-Fi, but say goodbye to those SLI plans then.

Go with the P5WDH if you're completely sure that you want to go SLI, or wait another month until DFI has the NF680 out.
__________________
C2D E6600 @ 3.15ghz w/ 1.35 vcore
Abit AW9D-MAX
Scythe Infinity
2GB G.Skill DDR2-800 (4-4-4-12)
XFX 7600GT xXx
Silverstone Tj-06
Drizo is offline  
Old 10-06-2006, 12:45 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
bonehelm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 612
Default

If i were you I wouldn't even consider a 7900 series...a 7600GT can handle everything until R600 comes out.
__________________
PC Specs:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 Conroe 2.13ghz
Gigabyte P35-S3 Motherboard
A-DATA 2x1GB DDR2 800mhz memory
Geforce 8600GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI-Express
bonehelm is offline  
Old 10-06-2006, 12:55 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bonehelm
If i were you I wouldn't even consider a 7900 series...a 7600GT can handle everything until R600 comes out.

What on earth does that even mean? Does the R600 make a 7600GT perform worse??? A 7600GT cant handle everything by the way.... R600 is a long way away.
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 10-06-2006, 01:33 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bonehelm
If i were you I wouldn't even consider a 7900 series...a 7600GT can handle everything until R600 comes out.

That's a very bold statement. And quite wrong.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 10-06-2006, 01:50 PM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 85
Default

lol yall are confusing me now. I'm adamant on getting at least a 7900 series. But I'm still not sure about the hard drive issue, is gettinga primary and a secondary for storage a bad idea at all? Does it have any drawbacks?
__________________

norcal313 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.