Comp Built But PROBLEMS! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-30-2006, 06:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 53
Default Comp Built But PROBLEMS!

Still having problems, i realized that i had ordered the wrong memory so i re orderd the right part. When i attempted to start it up before installing new mem the all the fans would kick on for about 1 second and then turn off with no real fan noise coming from CPU. But now after everyhting is connected the fans turn on now for about 3 seconds with cpu fan noise and all seems well then it cuts out again... im getting really frustrated. I have also tried unplugging components except vid card mother board and CPU but then it turns to doing the same 1 sec turn on. Any advice would be much appriciated.
__________________

Talis is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 06:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

tell us your system specs.. maybe its a psu problem
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 08:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 53
Default

MSI K9N Neo-F Socket AM2 NVIDIA nForce 550 MCP ATX AMD Motherboard

eVGA 256-P2-N583-AR Geforce 7900GT 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card

FSP Group (Fortron Source) AX500-A, 2.0 version, 2 SATA, PCI Express, 500W

AMD Athlon 64 3800+ Orleans 2000MHz HT 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM2 Processor

OCZ 1GB (2 x 512MB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM Unbuffered DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit System Memory

Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD2500KS 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive
Talis is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 08:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to vipercrazed Send a message via Yahoo to vipercrazed
Default

is it hooked up to a screen? how far do u get? bios? XP screen?

yea that psu is pretty (insert bad word here cause i cant think of any)ty

though that is thier top line pretty much

3 seconds would be about the time it would take for one of those temp programs(shut down ur cpu if its too hot)

i couldnt imagine any comp running for 1 single second and fully shutting off by itself, if in the rare event it did that probaly means it just fried everythign in ur system

but im no expert this is just guesses
__________________
bfg tech 7900GT@475 still ll 3200+ venice@2.72, 1.55v ll OCZ 1GB ll WD 320 GB hdd
vipercrazed is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 03:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

Fortron is not a bad PSU company. But in this case it might be the PSU that's at fault. Do you have a spare PSU lying around, or maybe one you can borrow from a friend to see if it is indeed the PSU, or maybe the mobo.

I suggest starting the PC up with only the CPU, mobo and 1 stick of RAM connected. No harddrives or CD drives or anything else, and see what it does. At the moment I really think it's either the PSU or mobo. Check with another PSU before you run off to buy a new one!
__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 07:28 AM   #6 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

sounds as if your mobo is shorting out somewhere... I know this sucks, but take it apart and reseat everything. also, use the cardboard washers that came with the mobo but use them on the bottom of the mounting screws. and them put your mobo in, etc...
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 09:36 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

are you SUREE its all hooked up properly? because it took you a few tries to get everything allconnected, chances are there could be somthing small thats still not hooked up correctly..
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 03:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 53
Default

I have alyready tried to start it up witjh just the mem cpu and mother board. Nothing goes. And i have already taken the computer apart 4 times now and reconnected all.
Talis is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 04:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

it could be one of two things (I think) either a bad PSU, or CPU. the only way to test that theory though, would be to have another of each and try.
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.