Comments and Critiques please, 1st time builder - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread

Old 02-18-2011, 01:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie

Default Comments and Critiques please, 1st time builder

Hello!

I am a first time builder and I am looking for advice from those with way more forgotten than Ill probably ever know on this stuff I am probably a hardcasual gamer, I dont get to play as much as like anymore, however when I do, I want to be able to thoroughly enjoy the game. (mostly mmorpgs)

I am looking at 2 Mobo and cpu combos to get me started:

1st Combo:
Mobo - Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-880GA-UD3H AM3 AMD 880G HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
CPU - Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition Deneb 3.2GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor HDZ955FBGMBOX

2nd Combo:
Mobo - Newegg.com - ASUS M4A88T-V EVO/USB3 AM3 AMD 880G HDMI USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
CPU - Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X2 555 Black Edition Callisto 3.2GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 80W Dual-Core Desktop Processor - C3 Revision HDZ555WFGMBOX

The first combo I am leaning towards as I feel like it will give me more bang for the buck and I probably wouldnt have to upgrade for awhile. The second one because its a hair cheaper, the mobo has the core unlocker and the cpu has the possibility to unlock to a quad, thus saving me a few dollars to throw at a gpu and a few other upgrades later on.

I have no idea on what kind of PSU to go with, I kinda figure Id need at least a 600w one to support upgrades and a gpu later on. Im also not 100% sure on ram, although I am thinking of starting with a 8gb 2x4gb kit with corsair or g skill or an equivalent. I am not planning on OC'ing it ( outside of maybe a little tinkering just to see what its like, but i dont want to blow the thing up).