Comment On Build - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-30-2006, 12:03 PM   #21 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default

I think it looks good should keep you going for atleast the next two years. I just ordered mine http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...52#post1052752
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 02:09 PM   #22 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

i think it rocks.
lemme know how that ram and 7900gs work with the e6600 (they are the same as mine), i may be building my mom a rig with my 4200 and getting a 6600 for myself.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 07:08 PM   #23 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

GREAT BUILD. And i checked a review on that PSU and your right, it looks good:

Performance Summary & Final Conclusions:

The Hiper Type-R is a good quality power supply with some unique features. The mesh body provides additional ventilation, allowing for the fans to run quieter. The modular power connectors are unique with the screw-type design and extension system. The sleeving on all cables also provides a nice touch and clean look. As mentioned before this PSU is NVIDIA SLI Certified, and also has a 3 year warranty.

This PSU isn't all just good looks, its performance is also solid. Voltages were all within spec, though a little high under a light load. Efficiency was about typical for any high-end power supply. Ripple was well within specs.

For all the hype that surrounded this power supply though, I can't say that it really something revolutionary that blew away my expectations. The actual internal design (the "guts") is really not that different than what you would find in any good quality power supply. The Type-R differentiates itself more by the custom cabling & chassis designs, which too is an important aspect of a good PSU. All in all, if someone was looking for a PSU that was just a little different than the rest, then I would not hesitate to recommend this PSU for them to consider.

http://www.extremeoverclocking.com/r...eR_580W_7.html


Another thing to consider is another hard drive and another DVD rom drive. The extra dvd makes burning easier and the hard drive for either back ups or improving performance by seperating Windows and data...

Good luck, either way that system will be very fast.

You still seem to be having problems with the links You have to post them one at a time, when you try to post them as a whole build it never works for some reason...
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 07:21 PM   #24 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 230
Default

yeah I am planning on getting another hard drive at a later date, as I said before I am working with a limited budget. Please don't think that once I get my new system that, that will be it O no I am still going to buy more parts for it as soon as I get some more money. Anyway please leave more comments and opinions about my new system specification please and thank you in advance.
__________________
http://img241.imageshack.us/img241/7...7ah7842gr0.gif
Case: NZXT Apollo BLACK
MB: Asus P5B Deluxe WiFi edition
CPU: E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
GFX: eVGA 7900GS
RAM: CORSAIR XMS2 1GB
HD : Seagate 400 GB HD
PSU: HIPER HPU 580Watt
MurdaX is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 07:21 PM   #25 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

Why so adiment about the xms2? g skill is just as good and cheaper.

If you buy a "dual channel"kit with your ram they are syncronized a little better then just buying a couple 1gb sticks. I just wanted to run that by you so that you know.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 07:28 PM   #26 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 230
Default

yes I also thought about that about get G skill rams due to the fact that they are good too and cheaper, but you see Asus mobo are very picky about the type of ram used. And a person who bought the mobo said that his G skill didn't work with it and had to get cosair ram due to the fact that they are compatible with the Asus mobo and any other mobo. Ok that is why I didn't get it, but I have made it clear that I am going to get another GB of ram at a later date (as soon as I get some more money), so keep posting on leave more comments and opinions towards my new build please and thank you in advance.
__________________
http://img241.imageshack.us/img241/7...7ah7842gr0.gif
Case: NZXT Apollo BLACK
MB: Asus P5B Deluxe WiFi edition
CPU: E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
GFX: eVGA 7900GS
RAM: CORSAIR XMS2 1GB
HD : Seagate 400 GB HD
PSU: HIPER HPU 580Watt
MurdaX is offline  
Old 12-31-2006, 01:26 AM   #27 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

the only problem that i know of is getting a different version of the same ram.
i.e. i have read that when you buy 1gb and upgrade at a later date even if you buy the "exact same" ram, you may end up with a different version and all types of problems posting.
dude if you can swing it buy two 1gb sticks. if you cant wait two weeks till you can and save the possibility of some serious headaches.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-31-2006, 12:53 PM   #28 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 230
Default

Ok I am seariously thinking about it but the thing is that the RAM is just too expensive to get 2 of them at this particular time. And it is the only one that I know of that is compatible with this mobo at this moment, unless anyone has any info about what RAMs are compatible with this mobo. Plus if I can't get another stick of the same RAM I might just sell it and two other of the same time, cause what I am telling you guys is that money is limited and I kinda want my new system like ASAP.
__________________
http://img241.imageshack.us/img241/7...7ah7842gr0.gif
Case: NZXT Apollo BLACK
MB: Asus P5B Deluxe WiFi edition
CPU: E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
GFX: eVGA 7900GS
RAM: CORSAIR XMS2 1GB
HD : Seagate 400 GB HD
PSU: HIPER HPU 580Watt
MurdaX is offline  
Old 12-31-2006, 02:23 PM   #29 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

get a cheaper mobo.
if your only going to be going with one video card then get the ASUS p5b thats around 150 bucks.

and use the money you save to upgrade to 2 gigs of ram
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 12-31-2006, 02:38 PM   #30 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 230
Default

I kinda like this mobo and I am not sure what I might do in the near future. But be honest the can't I get another 1GB RAM of the same one that I am going to use and install it at a later date (like 2 weeks time after I get my new system) and the games I am going to be running I don't think it would put too much strain on my system until I get the other RAM. I am planning on playing game like World of Warcraft, Guild Wars, Counter Strike and and a few other First Person Shooters and Strategy Games (can't the 1GB RAM handle all of these games to the fullest). Other from the fact that I still need 1 GB of RAM, what do you think of my system specifications. Please leave your comments and opinions please and thank you in advance.
__________________

__________________
http://img241.imageshack.us/img241/7...7ah7842gr0.gif
Case: NZXT Apollo BLACK
MB: Asus P5B Deluxe WiFi edition
CPU: E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
GFX: eVGA 7900GS
RAM: CORSAIR XMS2 1GB
HD : Seagate 400 GB HD
PSU: HIPER HPU 580Watt
MurdaX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.