Combining Memory (RAM) - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-15-2007, 04:06 PM   #11 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default Re: Combining Memory (RAM)

There's no 122 MHz DDR. You probably mean 133MHz (DDR266 PC-2100).
Your board supports up to 200MHz (DDR400 PC-3200).

It's probably best to use the new DDR400 memory only.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 04:08 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 136
Default Re: Combining Memory (RAM)

Thats what i was wondering... So its better to only use the 2x1gb DDR400...
__________________

AntonOle is offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 04:11 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 136
Default Re: Combining Memory (RAM)

my 2x512mb must be DDR333 because they are running at 166mhz (checked with an app right now)

so is it better to use only the 2 DDR400s and disregard the DDR333s?
AntonOle is offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 06:22 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 94
Default Re: Combining Memory (RAM)

Yeah, even if they were all 400's you wouldn't notice a big difference between 2 and 3 gigs.
jakebrick is offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 06:36 PM   #15 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default Re: Combining Memory (RAM)

You should try and compare.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 05-16-2007, 07:08 AM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Combining Memory (RAM)

i think it would be slightly better with the 3gg at 333 but still might pay to test them like has been suggested.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 05-16-2007, 12:52 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 438
Default Re: Combining Memory (RAM)

Windows xp is optimized at 2 gigs so if I were you I would just sell the 2x512 and use the money towards somethng else.
__________________

__________________
Q6600@ 3.0ghz
eVGA 680i A1
4x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800
2x8800gt xFx
Coolermaster Stacker 830
an51r is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help me identify Dell Rambus Memory please. Burnselk Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 05-11-2007 03:22 PM
Memory MOdules Problem - Timings Please Help babistor Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 05-03-2007 05:57 AM
Memory Not Recognize sexuall9 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 04-25-2007 03:36 PM
Need some help choosing memory before I buy today guitarplyrstevo New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-02-2007 02:52 AM
Is Vista seeing memory on my 8800GTS 320MB wrong? phexac Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 12:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.