Combing Two Computers - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-15-2013, 08:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Posts: 7
Default Combing Two Computers

Hey guys,

Alright, so I have a little dilemma, so I'm trying to get some support from anybody I can. I'll cut to the chase with what I need help with. I know a bit about computers, but I am not nearly as educated as I'm sure many of you are, so please be patient with me, I'm a fast learner, and if you need more information from me/have an idea of what I can do, please let me know.

Right now I have two computers, and I want to combine them to make one superior computer. One computer has very superior hardware, but the other one has everything I've worked on for years on it. To make this easier to read, the computer with better hardware will be Computer #1 and the computer with everything I have everything on will be Computer #2.

So, Computer #1 has:
-Windows 7 (64 bit)
-16GB Ram
-Radeon 7970
-Gigabyte GA Z77 D3H Motherboard
-Not sure how much memory is currently on it

Computer #2 has:
-Windows Vista (64 bit)
-8GB Ram
-Radeon 7870 GHz Edition
-Pegatron Corporation Benicia Motherboard
-1TB Hardrive

That's to name a few things for each of them. Basically what I want to do is to put all the work from #2 onto #1 with as little change to #1 as possible. I built #2 a while back, so I know how to put parts together, but I don't know some of the more "in depth" details. Can I literally just take the hard drive out from #2 and throw it in #1? If I can't, what would be the easiest way to move all my work from #2 into #1? One of the main issues I've been questioning is the fact that #2 is using Vista, while #1 is using 7.

I really appreciate the help guys, everything I just wrote was a bit of a mess, so if you need me to clarify anything/need more information/etc. just let me know, I understand that some of this may have not made a lot of sense, and that I probably left out some pretty crucial information. If that is the case, let me know and I will respond ASAP.

Thanks guys!
__________________

The Jester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 09:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Combing Two Computers

You can network the both together, and get access to each pc's files. I'm sure you can do more
__________________

Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 09:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Posts: 7
Default Re: Combing Two Computers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe C View Post
You can network the both together, and get access to each pc's files. I'm sure you can do more
Well, that would be a start. But I want all of my #2 work onto #1, which includes gaming stuff, pictures, videos, etc. etc... So if possible, would I be able to put the hard drive from #2 into #1? Because that would not only put all the work onto #1, but I would also have a second hard drive. I want to move everything from #2 onto #1. Something I should've mentioned is that, if possible, I'd like to have the hard drive from #2 onto #1 as well.
The Jester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 09:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,306
Default Re: Combing Two Computers

If both computers were running the same OS, it would be a different story. Thing is, you don't want to use your slower OS on the newer machine. Which that's what would happen (if it didn't BSOD on you) if you used HDD 2 on PC 1.

Basically all I can really say is, reinstall your programs to PC 1, then transfer files over. You can put HDD #2 in PC #1 but the boot loader of Vista might screw with 7, so best not to take that chance.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 09:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Combing Two Computers

There may be a way to make one a server and use sql to run one software program on the other but I'm not that knowledgeable on that subject, Someone else will need to explain that to you
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 09:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Posts: 7
Default Re: Combing Two Computers

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
If both computers were running the same OS, it would be a different story. Thing is, you don't want to use your slower OS on the newer machine. Which that's what would happen (if it didn't BSOD on you) if you used HDD 2 on PC 1.

Basically all I can really say is, reinstall your programs to PC 1, then transfer files over. You can put HDD #2 in PC #1 but the boot loader of Vista might screw with 7, so best not to take that chance.
I figured just putting in the HDD from #2 to #1 would be problematic. But, yes, of course, I do want to keep Windows 7 on #1. What exactly do you mean by reinstalling my programs to #1? What programs specifically And also, how would you recommend I go about transferring the files? By the previously mentioned networking? Sorry for all the questions, I really appreciate the help, I definitely need it.
The Jester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 09:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,306
Default Re: Combing Two Computers

Reinstalling any programs you have on PC2 that you would want on PC1.

Easiest way is by putting the drive in the machine, but you absolutely have to boot to Windows 7 or specifically the Windows 7 drive either from the bios or the motherboard boot menu.

By putting the drive in the machine, I mean HDD2 into PC1.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 10:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Posts: 7
Default Re: Combing Two Computers

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Reinstalling any programs you have on PC2 that you would want on PC1.

Easiest way is by putting the drive in the machine, but you absolutely have to boot to Windows 7 or specifically the Windows 7 drive either from the bios or the motherboard boot menu.

By putting the drive in the machine, I mean HDD2 into PC1.
I appreciate the caveman speak, I know it can be frustrating. So, I guess I'd just go through and reinstall my most used programs. It wouldn't be a problem if I didn't reinstall some programs, correct? Like, if I got some program years ago to open something and haven't used it since, its not like it'd get in the way? I have no idea why it would, but it wouldn't hurt to make sure I suppose. So, after I've installed the programs that I feel are most necessary, I put the HDD from #2 into #1. Then I boot up the computer, and make sure I boot the original HDD from #1. After that, I can access the files from #2. After this, would I need to copy all the files from #2's HDD to #1's HDD? Or could I keep the HDD from #2 in #1 indefinitely without any risk?
The Jester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 10:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,306
Default Re: Combing Two Computers

If you don't use the program, then no you don't have to reinstall it. I suppose if another program depended on it, you'll find out soon enough. Otherwise, install what you need.

Once you copy over the noninstalled files (music, documents, saves, stuff like that) you can go ahead and format HDD2 and use it as additional storage or take it back out of the computer and have 2 separate machines. That's up to you.

Just to be clear, do not transfer installed programs hoping they work. It could wind up being a mess later.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 11:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Posts: 7
Default Re: Combing Two Computers

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
If you don't use the program, then no you don't have to reinstall it. I suppose if another program depended on it, you'll find out soon enough. Otherwise, install what you need.

Once you copy over the noninstalled files (music, documents, saves, stuff like that) you can go ahead and format HDD2 and use it as additional storage or take it back out of the computer and have 2 separate machines. That's up to you.

Just to be clear, do not transfer installed programs hoping they work. It could wind up being a mess later.
Alright, so, and I'm sorry to do this, I just want to make sure I don't mess up anything badly, so bear with me:

1. Start up #1 and install most important programs.
2. Get the HDD from #2 and put it into #1.
3. Boot up #1 and boot with the original HDD from #1.
4. Move files from #2's HDD to #1's HDD.
5. Reformat #2's HDD and use it as a secondary storage.

Would this summarize it correctly?
__________________

The Jester is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.