which combination will be better for gaming? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-05-2007, 09:52 PM   #21 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

You did say that chingchong so you're alright. Yea though it's true that for a few months still a 7600GT would work but what happens when you need something more powerful? You wasted 109 bucks or something then lol.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 09:53 PM   #22 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 67
Default

i know that, if u read my first post in this topic ull see that i said dont get a 7600 cuz it wont be long until ull want a 8800
__________________

__________________
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 4000+
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-K8N51GMF-9
Video Card: nVidia7300GS 512mb PCI-e
Ram: 1024 Memory DDR 2x 512
HDD: 80GB Western Digital (IDE)
Monitor: 17'' LCD Chimei CMV
Burner: 2x Lite-On 52x38x52x Burners
Keyboard: G15 Logitech Gaming Keyboard
Mouse: G5 Logitech Gaming Mouse
MousePad: Thermaltake Tai-Chi M2 Steelpad
OS: Windows XP
ChingChong23 is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 10:15 PM   #23 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 337
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sora
what happens when you need something more powerful? You wasted 109 bucks or something then lol.
Not necessarily wasted, you could always sell the old one. Or if it's an evga I hear you can do the "step-up" program and just pay the difference.
Jrod is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 10:19 PM   #24 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

True but choice B still is better :P


EDIT: For gaming at the very LEAST.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 10:23 PM   #25 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default

allright i think i'm gonna go with the 8800gts with 1gb ram choice. will this run crysis or something like battlestations midway with good framerates?

EDIT: can you guys also recommend a good stick of 1gb ram? and i read on the gigabyte ds3 specifications that the ram must be 1.8volts, so would this http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231085 G.SKILL 1GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 not work with the gigabyte ds3?
__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 10:29 PM   #26 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 337
Default

Do you have Vista? If you do, the minimum ram requirement for the game (according to a few sites) is 1GB. If on XP, the min req is 768MB.
Jrod is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 10:35 PM   #27 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default

no, gonna stick with xp for a while before i switch over.
__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 10:35 PM   #28 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

You will have 2gb before crysis comes out man....it's only 90 bucks or so for another gig and you have months still.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 10:36 PM   #29 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 67
Default

Crysis is still a year or more away, ud have 2gb ram by then. and if u got vista im very sure ur gonna want 2gb ram as soon as u can, and when it comes to ram i brought some cheap 150$ 1 gig ram, but u can also get something more high end for around 350$
__________________
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 4000+
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-K8N51GMF-9
Video Card: nVidia7300GS 512mb PCI-e
Ram: 1024 Memory DDR 2x 512
HDD: 80GB Western Digital (IDE)
Monitor: 17'' LCD Chimei CMV
Burner: 2x Lite-On 52x38x52x Burners
Keyboard: G15 Logitech Gaming Keyboard
Mouse: G5 Logitech Gaming Mouse
MousePad: Thermaltake Tai-Chi M2 Steelpad
OS: Windows XP
ChingChong23 is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 10:42 PM   #30 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default

can anyone answer my second question. "can you guys also recommend a good stick of 1gb ram? and i read on the gigabyte ds3 specifications that the ram must be 1.8volts, so would this http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16820231085 G.SKILL 1GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 not work with the gigabyte ds3?"
__________________

__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.