COD MW2 running sluggish on a 4870? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-29-2009, 05:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default COD MW2 running sluggish on a 4870?

Meh... This is prolly inn the wrong room.. Just move if justified..

My rig has been kind of choppy with the new COD MW2 .. I haven't clocked any FPS with it.. I can do it now..

but why would this run sluggish and choppy? New game has bugs?

rig specs in sig... I'm running a single 4870 1g about to pick up another one..
__________________

__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 11-29-2009, 05:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: COD MW2 running sluggish on a 4870?

Well what settings are you using? Use FRAPS to see what kind of FPS you are getting.
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 11-29-2009, 06:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: COD MW2 running sluggish on a 4870?

Just clocked it.. I'm getting 60 fps right now.. It just figures, the rig runs fine for me and my buddy comes by (Play 3 gamer) and I wanted to show him the rig and it's freezing up and running like crap... :/

The GPU is slightly OC'd... 750 and 900mhz, IIRC..
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 11-29-2009, 07:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,024
Default Re: COD MW2 running sluggish on a 4870?

Hm, weird.. Does it do it a lot? Or was that the only time you've seen it like that? In multiplayer I get a constant 91FPS (specs in sig), with FRAPS running, and our systems are roughly equal (are they?)
__________________
7700k • 32GB RAM • 512GB 960 Pro • GTX 1080 • NCase M1
15" Retina MBP || 64GB Nexus 6P || 64GB iPad Air 2
Battle.net: iFargle #1561 || Steam/Origin: iFargle
iFargle is offline  
Old 11-29-2009, 07:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: COD MW2 running sluggish on a 4870?

Possible stupid question... Can you mix and match ram sticks?? *hides* I'm running OCZ 1066 @ 6-6-6-12 (Stock) in DIMM 1+2 and Corsair Dominator 1066 @ 5-5-5-15 (Stock) in DIMM 3+4.. Voltage locked @ 2.1v...

^ And yeah, our systems are pretty much the same, your card clocks a bit more than mine, but still should perform about the same... 8g 1066, 3.5 OC CPU...

It just did it today and yesterday I noticed that it was running a little choppy.. I'll grab a GPUz shot soon.. I beat MW2 and it runs fine, pretty much, but I think I may notice a lower FPS rate after I'd been sitting there for a bit.. Maybe it IS time for a Crossfire setup.. it doesn't run very hot, maybe 36* GPU gaming.
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 11-29-2009, 07:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,024
Default Re: COD MW2 running sluggish on a 4870?

36C!? Mine's sitting at 64C right now, doing nothing intense at all.... if you mean GPU, that is.

I'd try taking out the mismatched RAM stick and see if that helps. I've got four 2GB sticks of the same type in mine.
__________________
7700k • 32GB RAM • 512GB 960 Pro • GTX 1080 • NCase M1
15" Retina MBP || 64GB Nexus 6P || 64GB iPad Air 2
Battle.net: iFargle #1561 || Steam/Origin: iFargle
iFargle is offline  
Old 11-29-2009, 08:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: COD MW2 running sluggish on a 4870?

And I'm also running a 20" wide screen Viewsonic Monitor thru the DVI Cable, FWIW..


^ Yeah... GPU temp.. CPU temp is near, but a smidge warmer.. My 4870 used to game @ 77*c (new), that's when I threw some liquid at it. Got tired of messing with the dust pumps, aka FANS.. Runs uBer cool now! The big rig is in the basement @ maybe 65*f.. So the ambient temp is cool.. I'm on my laptop most of the time.

__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 11-29-2009, 09:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: COD MW2 running sluggish on a 4870?

have you tried a re install?
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 11-29-2009, 09:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: COD MW2 running sluggish on a 4870?

^ of........ Windows? ATI Drivers? No.. THis is somewhat of a fresh install.. I don't keep OS's on this rig for very long.. I think the longest was 6 months..
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 11-30-2009, 06:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: COD MW2 running sluggish on a 4870?

^ the game

i also format my HDD every 3 months and reinstall
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Check stats for CoD: MW2 on PC? iFargle PC Gaming 2 11-17-2009 06:09 PM
Rampage, Q6600, G.Skill, 4870, COD FS insane84722 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 2 05-20-2009 12:15 PM
BSOD in COD 5 (IRQ_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL) SPL Tech Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-15-2009 04:15 PM
*** 4870 vs 4850 Battle! *** gurusan Overclocking and Modding 65 12-18-2008 10:50 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.