Cleaning the Computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-19-2007, 12:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Cleaning the Computer

I noticed that my CPU heatsink and fan have quite a lot of dust in it, is it ok to remove the heatsink and fan to cool it?, and then put it on later with the stock thermal paste? i have an arctic freezer 7 pro, and an antec 900 case, i can clean all the other fans fine, but cleaning the CPU requires me taking out my mobo and starting from scratch again.
__________________

AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 06-19-2007, 12:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Cleaning the Computer

Just blow it with air. Don't remove a HSF if its unnecessary. I'm pretty sure it's not required to remove the HSF.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-19-2007, 12:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 506
Default Re: Cleaning the Computer

i just blow air at the HSF and the dust on the fan comes back flying at my face. It's crude but effective, I clean it every two weeks so its not that bad that i have to take it out specially since my HS's brackets are on the back of my mobo:P.
__________________
Alienware Full Tower Aurora Case
ABIT AV8 1.5 SOCKET 939 K8 MB
Amd X2 4800 socket 939
CORSAIR XMS 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
2x 500gb Seagate Barracuda 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s (running at 1.5 Gb/s)
Radeon® X1950PRO AGP Xtreme Gamer Edition AGP x8
Logitech Z-5500 Digital
Creative SOUND BLASTER X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS 7.1 Channels
VIGOR GAMING CLT-M2A 92mm Thermal Electric CPU Cooler
SeaSonic M12 SS-700HM ATX12V (700 watts)
Logitech G15
LG Flatron Wide 24in
Razer Copperhead Green (First Edition)
AHS 615 Gaming Headset
Windows Vitsa Ultamite (running at 32-bit)
wolfeyes89 is offline  
Old 06-19-2007, 12:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Jumping_Bean514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 752
Send a message via AIM to Jumping_Bean514
Default Re: Cleaning the Computer

I wouldn't remove it, especially if your using the Mx-1 pad that comes with it. As peter said, just use some compressed air. I use a vacuum cleaner to suck up all the dust that comes out after blowing the air in.
__________________
Bedroom Rig:
HP Pavillion Mini Tower Case
Intel Pentium III Coppermine @ 800MHz
Hyundai 128MB PC100 SDRAM @ 3-2-2-5
Vision Tek Xtasy 9200SE PCI 128MB @ 200/400
19GB Quantum Fireball

Don't be jealous!
Jumping_Bean514 is offline  
Old 06-19-2007, 12:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: Cleaning the Computer

i see dust in between the heatsink ..

maybe ill use my weakass vacuum cleaner to blow air on it, think that'll work or should i buy a compressed air can?
AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 06-19-2007, 12:26 AM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Cleaning the Computer

What I do when I clean my system, is take out the mobo (you dont have to, but I find this easier to get to the HSF), and use a little plier to get the dust out or loose. Then I have a fan near me, to keep the air ventilated, while I blow the HSF and motherboard, with the air can.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-19-2007, 12:33 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Cleaning the Computer

lol don't use the hair dryer.... like i did... nearly messed up my system... b1gapl knows the story
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-19-2007, 12:34 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Jumping_Bean514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 752
Send a message via AIM to Jumping_Bean514
Default Re: Cleaning the Computer

To prevent this from happening in the future you can buy filters to put on your intake fans. You can also easily make these filters using nylons or other similar mesh cloths.
__________________
Bedroom Rig:
HP Pavillion Mini Tower Case
Intel Pentium III Coppermine @ 800MHz
Hyundai 128MB PC100 SDRAM @ 3-2-2-5
Vision Tek Xtasy 9200SE PCI 128MB @ 200/400
19GB Quantum Fireball

Don't be jealous!
Jumping_Bean514 is offline  
Old 06-19-2007, 12:42 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: Cleaning the Computer

once again you guys are a ton of help, ill keep everything in mind when i do this tomorrow
AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 06-19-2007, 12:43 AM   #10 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Cleaning the Computer

dont forget to use a straw and suck at the cracks
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!!!! I disabled my graphics card by accident, need help!! Wildside Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-16-2007 07:29 PM
Cant seem to fix this dang computer morrty Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 06-11-2007 11:09 PM
computer freezes/beeps forever cullensmi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-12-2007 12:40 PM
Some upgrading / building new computer and counseling needed akasixcon New Systems | Building and Buying 5 04-21-2007 10:26 PM
New Computer. Same Issues Duality Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 04-01-2007 10:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.