Choppy, stuttery gameplay. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-26-2007, 09:26 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: Choppy, stuttery gameplay.

it would help if you could tell us some of the games it occurs in.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-26-2007, 10:36 AM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 213
Default Re: Choppy, stuttery gameplay.

1. Tell us your Computer Specs... we know you have a 8*** card and a e6400... how much ram?

2. Tell us what games u r playing when it does it...

3. Are you Online when playing these games?

BTW that e6400 bottlenecking a 8800gtx...DO NOT WORRY ABOUT IT!!
it could happen... but thats not ur prob...
__________________

__________________
www.outotune.com
MSI P6N SLI-FI NForce 650i
E6300
2x1gigs 667mhz OCZ
36gb Raptor
80gig SATA Hitachi HD
500gb Seagate 32mb Cache HD
EVGA 8800GT SC 512mb
Ultra X2 X-connect 550w PSU
ProView 22" 1680x1050
BuddyRo is offline  
Old 03-26-2007, 10:39 AM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 347
Default Re: Choppy, stuttery gameplay.

These symptoms could be caused by a number of things. Obviously the first thing you should check is your driver versions and make sure you have the latest stable set, and also your DX9, make sure everything is up to date. Second thing I would look into is temps, which loks like you already have. Those could be lower, but shouldn't be giving you problems at those temps. Lastly I'd have to say it could be your ram holding you back. If you get some cheesey value ram, you'll know it. If your proc has no place to work (ie ****ty ram) than you can't expect awesome performance.

I myself would have spent the couple extra and got the E6600, as it could possibly be the processor, but since the 8800GTX uses a new system where it actually takes a lot of the processing jobs away from the CPU, you shouldn't have a problem there.
Alexinator is offline  
Old 03-26-2007, 10:40 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default Re: Choppy, stuttery gameplay.

A GTX owner with no knowledge of V-sync... (Mommy and daddy buy it???)

Your symptoms make no sense what-so-ever. Use FRAPS and get us a specific value.
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 03-26-2007, 11:05 AM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 154
Default Re: Choppy, stuttery gameplay.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BennyV04988 View Post
A GTX owner with no knowledge of V-sync... (Mommy and daddy buy it???)

Your symptoms make no sense what-so-ever. Use FRAPS and get us a specific value.
yeah stupid ****, my mom and dad did buy it. I'm 17 years old playing computer games. what a ******* post.

And I just have some corsair value select, do you think that could really be the issue?
cementshoes is offline  
Old 03-26-2007, 11:37 AM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 347
Default Re: Choppy, stuttery gameplay.

Give me a link to your exact RAM model, and yes, depending on the ram I do think that could be the problem.

The RAM's sole purpose is to provide a place for your processor to work. If you have little or slow value ram then you're not going to get quite as good performance as someone with faster RAM at about 2GB. Your RAM could be bottlenecking your proc which in turn would slow down the whole system (When the RAM is in use, in games and such)

And come on Benny, was that really needed? Just becuase you're jealous he gets a GTX and you're stuck with a GTS... heh.
Alexinator is offline  
Old 03-26-2007, 12:10 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default Re: Choppy, stuttery gameplay.

correct me if i'm wrong...but it sounds like he should be jealous of mine.... I'm stunned at his lack of knowledge on such things, yet owns a $600 vid card that's all.

Yet we still fail to see a sufficient description of his problem. High fps = smooth game play...so you don't have high fps...
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 03-26-2007, 12:19 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 347
Default Re: Choppy, stuttery gameplay.

Everyone was new once, including you. And even if your card is OCed, his would still most likely beat yours in a 3dmark06..
Alexinator is offline  
Old 03-26-2007, 12:47 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default Re: Choppy, stuttery gameplay.

I have 10k in 3dmark06, but i don't play 3dmark06. I play games... and they play smoothly, apparently his don't.

I could offer some sort of advise, but we don't have any specific symptoms other than "two steps forward, one step back"...w/e that means.

Download FRAPS, run a test, give us the results.
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 03-26-2007, 01:35 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 154
Default Re: Choppy, stuttery gameplay.

Here's my RAM, it says 333mhz? I don't know much about computers but when I bought it, it said 667 mhz, this has all of the timings, which I guess are what 4-4-4-12 or whatever is, so have a look and tell me if this could be the problem.
__________________

cementshoes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.