Choppy games, plenty of horsepower - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-21-2007, 07:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6
Default Choppy games, plenty of horsepower

Just completed some upgrades to my machine over the past couple weeks. I've tried 2 different games; UT3 and Crysis. Both run very choppy. Game settings don't seem to have any effect. From lowest settings to Med-High things are equally choppy. System Specs:

Abit Fatality An9 32X Mobo
4GB Kingston HyperX RAM
250GB SATA drive
EVGA 8800GTS video card
AMD X2 4200 dual core liquid cooled
22" LG widescreen LCD (if it matters)
Vista Ultimate 32 bit

Outside of games everything runs fine (meaning my normal apps and such). No overclocking. Tried different mice (3). Tried 2 different video cards; an 8600gt and the current 8800gts. Changed RAM from Corsair XMS 2 to current Kingston.
Tried different resolutions in both games and they ran equally choppy regardless of low or high resolution. Have latest drivers from Nvidia. Again, tried all game settings from the very lowest to fairly high and it didn't seem to make a difference either way.

I'm finding this very strange and have no idea where to go from here. I appreciate any suggestions!
__________________

BlueStreak is offline  
Old 12-21-2007, 08:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Choppy games, plenty of horsepower

Driver version?
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 12-21-2007, 08:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Choppy games, plenty of horsepower

for video card? It's 169.25
BlueStreak is offline  
Old 12-21-2007, 08:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 156
Default Re: Choppy games, plenty of horsepower

The problem could be with your PSU, what are you using currently, if its older or isnt powerful enough to supply your system with adequate power during gameplay it could cause choppy fps.
masteroc is offline  
Old 12-21-2007, 11:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Benton, KY
Posts: 14
Send a message via MSN to Coach Thorpe
Default Re: Choppy games, plenty of horsepower

Yes can we get a PSU Wattage, I would suggest 550w +

Running a 700 watt PSU and running fine on any game I play on this end
Coach Thorpe is offline  
Old 12-21-2007, 11:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Choppy games, plenty of horsepower

while wattaage is important to a degree, the 12v amps are more important. if you have the link to the psu you have then we could a good idea about if that could be an issue.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 12-21-2007, 11:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Choppy games, plenty of horsepower

Well PS is certainly something to consider. Mine is 600W. Not sure the make off hand but pretty decent, not generic crap, didn't come with the case.

A bit more info; the chop is very consistent if that makes any sense. I mean you could measure it at so many times per second and I think it would be very consistent. It's maybe 3x per second.

I'm reinstalling everything now including stupid Vista (I have my reasons for using it).

So we'll see what starting with a clean slate does.
BlueStreak is offline  
Old 12-22-2007, 11:32 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: Choppy games, plenty of horsepower

To rule out hardware have you tried running cod4 or battlefield 2? those games seem to run nicely on most pc's, be it high spec or not so high spec
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 12-22-2007, 11:59 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 771
Default Re: Choppy games, plenty of horsepower

What's your video card temperature in game? Just to eliminate the possibility of it overheating and downclocking. I discovered mine was doing the same thing, as you described, last night. I took the heatsink off of it and there was a half-inch wall of dust between the fan and the heatsink. Temperatures were spiking into the 120*C range when in game, at which point it would downclock until it could cool off. Probably won't apply to you if your hardware hasn't been used for a while.
__________________
  • AMD FX 8350 Black Edition
  • XFX R9 390 8GB
  • 16GB (8x2) GSKILL DDR3 1866mhz
  • GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+
  • Aspire X-Plorer Silent Case
  • PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610W Continuous
  • 180GB Intel 520 SSD
  • Vizio 32" TV (1920/1080)/Acer P221W 22" Widescreen LCD (1680/1050)
Twizted_3kgt is offline  
Old 12-22-2007, 12:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Choppy games, plenty of horsepower

Quote:
Originally Posted by Twizted_3kgt View Post
What's your video card temperature in game? Just to eliminate the possibility of it overheating and downclocking. I discovered mine was doing the same thing, as you described, last night. I took the heatsink off of it and there was a half-inch wall of dust between the fan and the heatsink. Temperatures were spiking into the 120*C range when in game, at which point it would downclock until it could cool off. Probably won't apply to you if your hardware hasn't been used for a while.
what program do you use to measure, and keep graphs of, your temps in game? gpu and others?
__________________

__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Five Free Games for Geeks Osiris PC Gaming 2 07-31-2007 12:10 PM
""10 Reasons Why PS3 Will Win This Console Generation" - Insomniac Games Chief Creati TheEnd187 Sony Playstation 97 07-12-2007 07:52 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.