Choosing a new kickass CPU. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-17-2005, 11:06 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

Thank you master Gaara for the clarification. I'm gonna stick to my guns and go with a 939 platform.


Quote:
Originally posted by lazerman
I was asking about why he said dual cores weren't good for gaming lol.
I didn't say they weren't. I've just heard things and read reviews on newegg about game incompatibility and graphics artifacts on some games with the X2. I'm wondering if there is any truth to these claims?
__________________

woot7800GT is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 11:07 PM   #12 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Opteron 170, Athlon 64 4400+ X2 or Opteron 175.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 11:10 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

Aren't opterons server processors?
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 11:11 PM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Socket M2 is also introducing M2 Semprons. I'd hardly call that useless. Bringing budget to the cutting edge of technology, up from Socket 754...
Flanker is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 11:14 PM   #15 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by woot6600GT
Aren't opterons server processors?
... how can you not have heard about them already?? read the last post of this thread:
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=59883
the opteron 1xx line is out in socket 939, and they are great because a 2.0ghz opteron with 1mb of l2 cache is cheaper than a 2.0ghz athlon 64 with 512k of l2 cache. and they perform the same as athlon 64's. the early ones also overclocked like mad.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 11:14 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Read: http://techist.com/showthread.php?po...150#post604150

Gaming artifacting would be caused by an overheating GPU as only a GPU is responsible for processing and displaying gaming rendering and what is visible on your screen. I've never heard of a CPU causing artifacting ever. I will admit that multicore processors run pretty hot, but a good aftermarket heatsink or even the newer stock AMD heatsinks that are shipping with heatpipes should be good enough unless you have a warm ambient room temperature or poor case ventilation

The incompatibilities you might have heard of are that games are not multithreaded. This is true meaning that only one of the two cores is utilised by a game...however this in no way means the game is not compatible. All this means is that you have one core responsible for the game and another core idling that will take over any external processes
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 11:23 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gaara


All this means is that you have one core responsible for the game and another core idling that will take over any external processes
I was wondering about this. During gaming, one core is used. How good are each of the cores? What are they equivelant to? A 64 3500+? 64 3700+?
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 11:30 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Each core run's at their rated speed.... An Opteron 170 has 2 cores running at 2.0ghz each.
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 11:30 PM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

If you're talking about a 4400+, each physical core operates at 2.2GHz and has 1MB L2 Cache so it's basically like having two 3700+ San Diego cores...one is processing your gameplay and the other one could be doing something like burning a CD or something, if you look at it that way, it's quite a powerful processor

And of course one games become multithreaded both cores can be used to split the load meaning your processor is going to be powerful in a wide variety of enviroments for quite some time
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 11:46 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

What I take from it is, if a game is multithreaded, it essentially means an Opteron 170-- which has two cores at 2.0ghz--would play the game like a 4ghz processor. Then you factor in overclocking and DAYUM!

Am I right on this gaara?
__________________

__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.