Choosing a new kickass CPU. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-17-2005, 05:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default Choosing a new kickass CPU.

Well, it's a few months off but I'll start asking now anyway; What new processor would you guys recommend for me. I want a 64 Bit compatible CPU that can mutitask well and game great. I'm currently considering:

Pentium D 830

Athlon 64 X2 4200

and

Athlon 64 4000+ San Diego

Like I said, first priotiy is gaming, 2nd is multitasking, but I'd like one that can do both well.

A question on the Pentium D: Since it's LGA775 will I need a new mobo or what?

Thanks for any help/ advice!
__________________

woot7800GT is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 05:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

X2 3800+ hands down
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 05:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

Quote:
A question on the Pentium D: Since it's LGA775 will I need a new mobo or what?
Yes, you will.

M2 will be coming out next year.

As for X2, go for the 4400. Better bang for the buck.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 06:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trotter


M2 will be coming out next year.

What's M2?

Also, I've heard stories of X2's not gaming well, or causing artifacts of some sort. What's the deal there?
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 06:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Um, what are you talking about?
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 06:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

M2 is the new socket AMD is coming out with, it will utilize DDR2 and some new cores and processors are coming out
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 07:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PZEROFGH
M2 is the new socket AMD is coming out with, it will utilize DDR2 and some new cores and processors are coming out
So I should wait for it then. I'm gonna be buying my new stuff in late March. When's M2 slated for release? Does it ONLY utilize DDR2? Cause I just bought 2 gigs of DDR memory BECAUSE I thought AMD was going to stick with DDR. Did I get screwed over?
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 09:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Socket M2 will be revising the K8 architecture with Revision F...which basically means modifying the memory controller for DDR2 support, however, from my understanding, RevF memory controllers will be capable of supporting both DDR1 and DDR2 therefore it is likely there will be backwards compatibility...of course your processor would most likely be bottlenecked as AMD is using DDR2-667 standard and the current DDR1 standard is DDR400

That said, socket M2 is being hugely overhyped. It's still using K8 architecture with the only difference being support for DDR2...however with AMD64 LDT bus your benefits over DDR1 will be minimal and I suspect the reason AMD has migrated to DDR2 has been pressure from memory manufacturers to do so...furthermore DDR2 still has poor ICs and terrible latency issues making it a poor memory platform altogether

The only relatively interesting thing to RevF processors is Socket S1 which refers to a low pincount socket designed for mobile processors. Based on the AMD roadmap and based on what current Turion specifications are one can speculate S1 will be the breeding ground for the next XP-M style family which of course means unrivaled overclockability...however with so much success with numerous cores (eg Winchester, Venice, Venus) I don't know if there will ever be another mobile family of processors like the XP-Ms and their infamous overclocking

What am I getting at? Socket M2 is nothing different from Socket T...different pincount and a different memory platform, but performance wise, not much of a difference. Don't get tricked into what many people already believe. You would be better getting a socket 939 processor now as they're very capable and very affordable and then waiting for K9 and DDR3 or XDR
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 10:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

I was asking about why he said dual cores weren't good for gaming lol.
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 10:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Athlon 64 X2 4200


I just got a 4400 and my god is it fast. You will thank yourslef.
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.