Choosing a monitor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-18-2009, 08:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Choosing a monitor

So I bought a 26" tv from bestbuy to use as my monitor and regret it greatly. Way too many resolution setting problems, so I'm going to use it as a paper weight or something and actually get a monitor.

So I went to bestbuy to look at some then went to compare at newegg, here's what I'm looking at.

This is a 22" it had a glossy screen which I actually liked a lot. I only looked at if for a few minutes, it's not on newegg and this is the cheapest I could find it. Anyone know much about it?
Gateway - 22" Widescreen Flat-Panel LCD HD Monitor - HD2201

This is another I found at bestbuy, which I did not get a chance to actually see.
Acer - 23" Widescreen Flat-Panel LCD Monitor - Black - H233H bmid

It's also on newegg but actually more expensive. here it is,
Newegg.com - Acer H233Hbmid Black 23" 5ms HDMI Full HD 1080P Widescreen LCD Monitor 300 cd/m2 40000:1 (ACM) Built in Speakers - LCD Monitors
Or the same thing w/o speakers.
(cheapest)
Newegg.com - Acer X233Hbid Black 23" 5ms HDMI Full 1080P Widescreen LCD Monitor 300 cd/m2 40000:1 (ACM) - LCD Monitors


So I've got quite a few questions...

1. Does Acer have good quality, the picture on other Acers I saw looked a little dull compared to some nicer LG and the like.
2. I have an hd4850, I'm pretty sure a 1920x1080 resolution my card would stumble and fall on more demanding games. Is this correct?
3. Anyone know much about dell's quality, a pro or con with the glossy screen? I don't have much sunlight in the room where it's at so that's not a problem. It also got good reviews on cnet.
4. With the monitor with speakers, if I have it hooked up dvi to hdmi how can I get sound? Because dvi is video only, so how would I use the monitor speakerS?
5. The 1680x1050 resolution will look good, and my hd4850 will handle it fine correct?
6. Last, the Acers say maximum and recommended at 1920x1080, even though it's recommended could I set it to a lower resolution, or would this cause problems?

Thanks in advanced, first to answer gets much rep! haha
__________________

Thresh25 is offline  
Old 04-18-2009, 08:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: Choosing a monitor

1. Acer screens are generally not as good as LG or Samsung, but it does depend on the screen.
2. Yes. 1080p on a HD4850 will be hard for alot of newer games, but still might be ok to max, say, COD4.
3. Dell have very good screens because they generally use higher quality panels than just about anyone else (im just about to buy one), especially the ultrasharp series. I would stay away from glossy screens, even with a small amount of light i think the reflectivitiy would become annoying.
4. Yes.
6. You could set it at a lower resolution, but LCDs only display their native (which is also their max) well. Any other lower resolutions will look very poor in comparison.

Also one thing you have to remember when going for a 1080p screen is that is is a 16:9 ratio, which while good for movies, isnt so great for games. Most games are designed for 16:10 these days, so some fps games things may get cut off, or you hay be at a disadvantage compared to other people. Its not a huge difference though - depends how much you game.
__________________

__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 04-18-2009, 08:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: Choosing a monitor

You went from 4 to 6. and 4 could not be answered with just yes, but number 5 could lol. So I assume 5 was a yes.

I assume you don't know how to use the monitor's speakers either?
I think I would be better off just getting a 1680x1050 monitor then since that's about as much as my 4850 could handle. Do you think there's a very big difference between the two?

edit: I don't ever watch movies on this, so I would want what's best for gaming.
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 04-19-2009, 07:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Choosing a monitor

Just get a standard 22" 1680x1050 monitor. Thresh is right acer do make some nice monitors especially budget ones, but samsung are usually of higher picture quality. Dell is good because they use samsung panels. The difference would be noticeable but for a 4850 it's just not worth the upgrade for gaming performance. Either you would take settings down or resolution down and both would be worse off then having a 22" at maxed settings or higher settings anyway.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 04-19-2009, 11:33 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Choosing a monitor

at 1680x1050 my old 9800GTX maxed every game i had. ran it like butter (except crysis) so your 4850 shouldn't have a problem.

i have been eyeing this monitor. looks good but your 4850 might struggle at 1920x1080. but it's still a good deal.

Newegg.com - Acer X233Hbid Black 23&#34; 5ms HDMI Full 1080P Widescreen LCD Monitor 300 cd&#47;m2 40000&#58;1 &#40;ACM&#41; - LCD Monitors

use the promo code below and get it for $179

EMCLRMT52
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 04-19-2009, 07:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: Choosing a monitor

Just a question about this 26" paperweight, what was the problem you were having? Was it the one where you can't get the resolution to fit the screen correctly? If that is all, you can probably fix that in your graphics control pannel. I know I have a computer with a gtx 260 core 216 hooked up to a 52" 1080p tv, and I had to use that thing in the Nvidia control pannel to slide the boundaries of the screen to get everything to display correctly. I wouldn't give up on your tv just yet.
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
GPU: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline  
Old 04-19-2009, 08:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: Choosing a monitor

The same model on my old 8600 gt I was able to use it's native resolution at 1336x768 via nvidia control panel. However with CCC I cannot set it to 1336x768, when I do the TV just says no signal. So i''ve got it at 1280x1024 which takes up the whole screen, but then it forces my refresh rate to be 30hz. So I can do 1280x720 which looks like **** and then have 60hz.

I've tried everything and am tired of messing around with it.
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 04-19-2009, 10:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: Choosing a monitor

Alright then, I hope you didn't pay too much for it.
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
GPU: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline  
Old 04-19-2009, 10:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Choosing a monitor

If it was a Sony which is one of the only 26" makers I know of, then you paid $500 for it. Get a nice 24" Acer or something
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 04-19-2009, 10:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: Choosing a monitor

Heh that's kind of weird. At sears we've got vizio, samsung, sony, and at bestbuy i saw westinghouse, dynex insignia, and i believe some sharps as well along with samsung and sony.

But I bought it new, got it for the open box price they had listed at bestbuy, a westinghouse 26" for like 349.99. for a 26" hard to beat that price. Not the best quality but it was an impulse buy.
__________________

Thresh25 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Your LCD Monitor and You Fat.Clown Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 22 01-30-2017 07:05 AM
Monitor Your Linux Desktop with Gkrellm Osiris Linux Tips and Tricks 5 02-03-2009 03:30 PM
Monitor Only Displays White Screen darkop16 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-24-2008 11:37 PM
Help with choosing mobo. And a monitor. Pleeease? JouerPC New Systems | Building and Buying 2 09-09-2008 11:38 AM
Dual Monitor Issue Ultra Steel Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 04-18-2007 08:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.