Choose Duplicity's Mobo! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-27-2005, 09:37 PM   #11 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Has he ever owned a DIF board? If not, he won't be much help. A few tips if you get DFI, try to get only OCZ or G.Skill RAM, and don't get anything that says "value".
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 09:49 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 114
Send a message via AIM to Duplicity
Default

Haha, well that could be a problem. I'm pretty sure he hasn't used a DFI board before. Also I'm on a budget so about all I can afford is some Corsair Valueselect stuff. Now you see why I wasn't really sure about whether to go with the DFI board or not.
__________________

__________________
DFI Lanarty Ultra-D
Opteron 165 @ 2.5, 1.325v
1x1GB Mushkin XP4000 @ 250, 3-4-3-8 (another gig on the way)
Sapphire X1900XT @ 700/800 (she\'ll do better, but I need to replace the stock cooler)
WD 1600JB 160GB
Antec SP 500W
Duplicity is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 10:25 PM   #13 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

if you want 1gb of ram get this:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231012
if you want 2, get this:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231032

this should work well for you
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 10:30 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the DFI board is a great board for overclocking and non-overclocking.
however if you're on a budget, I would possibly say MSI K8N Neo4-F.
the MSI boards are also great, IMO second to the DFI boards. but the Neo4-F is less expensive
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 09:34 AM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 114
Send a message via AIM to Duplicity
Default

Here, I might as well give you the list of what I'm purchasing..

AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego

Corsair Valueselect 2x1GB

eVGA 7800GT CO

Western Digital 160GB

Cooler Master Centurion 5

Fortron 450W

So, I may be able to get some better RAM, but I still am not sure about the mobo. I would love to get an Asus A8N-SLI Premium, but I don't think I can afford anything above $120-$130. I am seriously considering the DFI board, but I am a beginner..
Duplicity is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 09:47 AM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 67
Default

I'm getting the MSI KN8 mobo since it's cheap and I don't plan on OC'ing.
__________________
I am the noobzor!

|My System|
MSI K8N Neo4-F Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 ATX AMD Mobo
eVGA 256MB 7800GT
Aspire ATX 520W PSU
Corsair PC 3200 512MB X2
Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM 80GB HD
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ 2.2Ghz
Creative Audigy2 ZS
WOOT!
noobzor is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 10:08 AM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I'd recommend you don't get Corsair RAM
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 11:08 AM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 67
Default

What's wrong with Corsair RAM? People have said it's the best for the cheap price, I'm planning on getting 1G of it, only $84
__________________
I am the noobzor!

|My System|
MSI K8N Neo4-F Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 ATX AMD Mobo
eVGA 256MB 7800GT
Aspire ATX 520W PSU
Corsair PC 3200 512MB X2
Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM 80GB HD
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ 2.2Ghz
Creative Audigy2 ZS
WOOT!
noobzor is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 04:36 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Get the DFI Lanparty Expert SLI... Uses better components than the standard one...
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 05:03 PM   #20 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by noobzor
What's wrong with Corsair RAM? People have said it's the best for the cheap price, I'm planning on getting 1G of it, only $84
It has all kinds of issues with DFI boards. If you'd like to debate that head over to DFI-Street.com
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.