a choice between graphics cards - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-25-2007, 06:38 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: a choice between graphics cards

IMO with the 8800GT on the horizon the 8800GTS 320mb is not an ideal choice at the moment.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 10-25-2007, 06:56 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 224
Default Re: a choice between graphics cards

isnt it beautiful... /drool i love the color... if only it were a more trusted company (havnt heard much on leadtech)


and I agree with GT or id of bought a GTS already.

Same perf with same price with more MB- better deal- and anything better perf is a no brainer.
__________________

Kisskerven is offline  
Old 10-25-2007, 07:13 PM   #13 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: a choice between graphics cards

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
IMO with the 8800GT on the horizon the 8800GTS 320mb is not an ideal choice at the moment.
8800gts is not an ideal choice with the HD2900Pro in the picture.
the only thing, and i repeat, the only thing better about the 8800 is the user interface (NvCpl) vs. ATI's CCC.
which almost makes me want to RMA my 2900 for a 320 GTS (then im like..."i just clocked this thing to 900/1900...what am i thinking...?"). at the same time, why does ATI make their tools so awkward? maybe its just because i am used to nvidia control panel.
also for those of you hthinking of getting a pro, i have heard reports that flashing the bios to XT limits the overclock, possibly because it changes the ram timings. ie you can clock it higher with the pro bios in place. i have not tried this yet.
i flashed mine to XT and really have no need to overclock it, except for my own gratification. at stock (XT, and probably Pro as well) it plays every game i have with max settings 8xAA and 16xAF...WORD. gonna try it on COD4 and see how it hangs.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 10-25-2007, 08:12 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 119
Default Re: a choice between graphics cards

if i werent getting a GTX, id be getting the 8800GT, and so should you
Cheeseking25 is offline  
Old 10-25-2007, 08:12 PM   #15 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,308
Default Re: a choice between graphics cards

CoD4 it should hang fine. I max that out.

And i think its settled, 8800GT it is for this guy right?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 10-25-2007, 09:00 PM   #16 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: a choice between graphics cards

^^what do you mean?
its not released yet. you mean COD3, or do you mean the demo for COD4?
i'll wait and see how it (8800GT) performs before making that decision. we cant tell anything yet as no one even has it yet. if ATI improves their drivers every release as they have been, HD2900 wil be a force to be reckoned with next release (it already is for the 320 and maybe even 640 with catalyst 7.10...i mean it will be competition for the high-end 8800's).
if he can wait, wait. if he cant wait, HD2900Pro it is.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 10-25-2007, 09:25 PM   #17 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,308
Default Re: a choice between graphics cards

Yes im talking about the Demo, the game should be released the 11th right?

And weve already seen benchies of the 8800GT. The HD2900pro gets spanked by it.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 10-25-2007, 09:32 PM   #18 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: a choice between graphics cards

yeah but benchmarks dont really cut the mustard with me. i want to see in-game side by side performance. benchmarks really are simply a baseline performance indicator.
and the pro tested wasnt flashed to an xt either, im sure.
the 8800gt looks to be a beast, for sure tho. i can say that in another driver release or so, i think the Pro/XT will surpass the 8800gtx in performance.
i've read the 11th and the 5th for release date. i dunno.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 10-25-2007, 10:03 PM   #19 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,308
Default Re: a choice between graphics cards

Benchmarks as in game FPS benchmarks? Lol, its the same thing. And it was tested against an XT, so flashing a Pro to XT would be the same. And i highly doubt the XT and pro will gain so much to surpass the GTX in performance. Thas wishful thinking.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 10-25-2007, 10:35 PM   #20 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: a choice between graphics cards

and it killed the XT 1gb at high res....which i found hard to believe...i'll need confirmation
__________________

__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
who makes graphics cards atopork Web Graphics and Design 9 09-23-2007 04:16 PM
Dual graphics cards ChiliPalmer New Systems | Building and Buying 3 07-27-2007 04:27 PM
Direct x10 in New Graphics Cards objecterror New Systems | Building and Buying 14 06-23-2007 10:18 PM
Graphics Cards AZNRockThis Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 0 04-14-2007 01:22 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.