Chipsets and RAM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-13-2008, 04:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Illinois
Posts: 38
Send a message via AIM to CalviNet
Default Chipsets and RAM

Just wondering, does the chipset have anything to do with the type of RAM? Let em go into more detail... The board I was planning to purchase, the P5E, has an X48. The RAM I was looking into says X38 under features but not X48.

Does this actually mean anything, will it not work with the X48?

I apologize for all the questions (and threads!), I just want to get everything done right the first time.


CalviNet is offline  
Old 07-13-2008, 05:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
veg1992's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Chipsets and RAM

The Asus P5E is X38

It'll still work on the X48

I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.

.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-13-2008, 06:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Illinois
Posts: 38
Send a message via AIM to CalviNet
Default Re: Chipsets and RAM

Sorry, P5E deluxe which is X48. Thanks though, glad to hear it'll still work.
CalviNet is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SLI ready RAM? Is it any better? What does SLI mean for RAM? StealthTools Overclocking and Modding 12 04-17-2008 08:27 PM
ram help mweir_03 Microsoft Windows and Software 6 03-25-2008 02:25 AM
Bios showing 3.3 GB ram instead 4 GB dying4004 System Upgrades 10 03-14-2008 01:57 AM
RAM Upgrade Vortex187 System Upgrades 2 12-26-2007 06:06 AM
RAM compability layr89 System Upgrades 6 12-26-2007 05:14 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:04 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.