Chipset video card compatibilty - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-03-2007, 10:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 141
Default Chipset video card compatibilty

Hey this is gonna sound like such a noobish question, but is it possible to use an ati graphics card on a nforce motherboard? Ive always assumed no but now that the 2900 is out and 3 times better than any nvidia i just thought i'd ask...
__________________

Raknor is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 10:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Chipset video card compatibilty

it is possible
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 10:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 141
Default Re: Chipset video card compatibilty

not to run in crossfire on an sli mobo though right?
Raknor is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 10:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Chipset video card compatibilty

depends if the chipset/mobo supports them
sli is not needed for general gaming though
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 10:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 141
Default Re: Chipset video card compatibilty

of course i understand just wondering if there would be issues with the chipset conflicting with the card....guess that shows how little i understand about chipsets lol thanks again
Raknor is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 11:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 141
Default Re: Chipset video card compatibilty

One last question, would a 500w psu be able to effectivly power a SAPPHIRE 100201 Radeon HD 2900 XT 512MB 512-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16?
Raknor is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 11:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
siddanth3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: manchester, NH
Posts: 395
Default Re: Chipset video card compatibilty

well depends on the powersupply and how good it performs, but i would say yes. let me know what psu u have or what u r thinking of buying, so i can let u know
__________________
Antec 900
P4 prescott @3ghz HT 775
ViewSonic 20.1" lcd display + Samsung SyncMaster 2253
Corsair 2x512mb ddr2 533
FoxConn M7VMX-K LGA 775
FPS 400watt
WD 640 GB + WD 320 GB
Western Digital My Book 320gb
Evga 7900 GS
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech Navigation Keyboard
Razer Diamondback Plasma Blue
siddanth3 is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 11:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Chipset video card compatibilty

@siddanth, what prescott do you have?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 11:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
siddanth3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: manchester, NH
Posts: 395
Default Re: Chipset video card compatibilty

what do u mean what prescott
its a socket 775 at stock speed which is 3.0ghz. is HT too, if that helps
__________________
Antec 900
P4 prescott @3ghz HT 775
ViewSonic 20.1" lcd display + Samsung SyncMaster 2253
Corsair 2x512mb ddr2 533
FoxConn M7VMX-K LGA 775
FPS 400watt
WD 640 GB + WD 320 GB
Western Digital My Book 320gb
Evga 7900 GS
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech Navigation Keyboard
Razer Diamondback Plasma Blue
siddanth3 is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 11:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 141
Default Re: Chipset video card compatibilty

I bought my comp from velicity micro,because i didnt want the hassle of trouble shooting a custom job, the Psu just says velocity on it....
__________________

Raknor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Conflict between PCI Video card and PCI Wireless Network Adapter otaku_mike Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 06-13-2007 01:01 PM
Video card Snake91839 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 06-02-2007 11:03 AM
damaged video card sb14blue Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-13-2007 03:13 AM
New Video Card Dieo New Systems | Building and Buying 5 04-02-2007 11:27 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.