check on system - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-15-2007, 08:44 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 482
Default Re: check on system

Dont waste your money on raptors, when i started to look into high end rigs i thought the same as you, go for the fastest HDD. In reality its way cheaper to go with some 320, 500 or 750 GB HD's and put them in RAID 0. I would suggest two Western digital Hardrive 160-320GB in Raid 0 and a 750BG for Data, will give you the same performance as a raptor for half the price and you get like 3 times the capacity. Another thought, some people will support me on this, others wont, you could just go with a Q6600 G0 stepping and oc it to 3.8ghz and save the 800$.......As well, scratch the 8800 GTX, i have never seen or heard of that particular brand, go with a 8800 Ultra. EVGA has them for 599$ at a few places.
__________________

Prophet is offline  
Old 10-15-2007, 09:09 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: check on system

save $800 on what???

but 3.8ghz on a g0 stepping q6600 is difficult, people have been struggling to get past 3.5ghz... don't get his hopes up for no reason....

Sparkle is a well known brand in PSU's so its a safe bet that their video cards are good too...

right on the RAID (but people are afraid about losing their data to RAID0) but a 750GB Western Digital is about the same speed as a Raptor X
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-15-2007, 09:18 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: check on system

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
save $800 on what???

but 3.8ghz on a g0 stepping q6600 is difficult, people have been struggling to get past 3.5ghz... don't get his hopes up for no reason....
Which stepping is the best ?
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 10-15-2007, 09:22 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: check on system

Quote:
Originally Posted by Preacher View Post
Which stepping is the best ?
g0 is the best... because it pushed past 3.0ghz with ease... b3 sorta hard.. to push near 3.0ghz but Otis was very lucky with his.... but what i meant b4 was people can't get past 3.5ghz on that g0's... because unless you have Phase Change or LN or something, the temperatures become too hot to the point where you shouldn't overclock anymore and the CPU Voltage would be too high for it to not go "zap!!!"
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-15-2007, 09:26 PM   #15 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: check on system

yea dude just go with a q6600, and save the rest for future upgrades, the qx6800 is pure overkill, because its not just THAT much better than the q6600
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 10-15-2007, 09:27 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: check on system

Quote:
Originally Posted by Invisible View Post
yea dude just go with a q6600, and save the rest for future upgrades, the qx6800 is pure overkill, because its not just THAT much better than the q6600
530mhz and unlocked multiplier is NOT worth the extra $800 difference
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-15-2007, 09:34 PM   #17 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: check on system

800 double cheeseburgers ftw
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 10-15-2007, 10:00 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 482
Default Re: check on system

dude, you can get a double cheesburger for one dollar? hook a brotha up up
Prophet is offline  
Old 10-15-2007, 10:34 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
SirCyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Default Re: check on system

ok, I don't know alot about OC'ing nor stepping. I had planned on reading that later. so... is the q6600 friendly to a newb oc,er?
__________________
EVGA X58 Classified, EVGA GTX 275 CO-OP Edition, Intel Core i7 230@2.68GHz, 1080W Enermax Evolution, 6GB G-Skill DDR3@8-8-8-19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213
Knowledge is power. Power is nothing if it is not shared.
SirCyber is offline  
Old 10-15-2007, 11:14 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 482
Default Re: check on system

good question, because i am getting that too and i am a newb oc'er i guess it also depends on the MB too? <----asus P5k deluxe.
__________________

Prophet is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable to get this system going, component compatibility check, help appreciated Jeuk New Systems | Building and Buying 35 09-12-2007 01:25 AM
Price check... complete system... if you're bored? Vormund Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 0 09-06-2007 05:47 PM
seagate 80gigs failing.. acuariano Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 27 08-27-2007 10:43 PM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
User Locked Out of Account....Its Weird Though.... qbbraveheart Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 05-07-2007 09:58 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.