Check my new/upgrade PC! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2011, 04:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 42
Default Check my new/upgrade PC!

Only getting 3 new parts but still never hurts to check.

I'm on a tight budget thus this is all I could come up with while keeping my head up for an upgrade.

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Quad Core Processor AM3 3.4GHZ 8MB Cache 125W 45NM Retail Box

NCIX.com - Buy AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Quad Core Processor AM3 3.4GHZ 8MB Cache 125W 45NM Retail Box - AMD - HDZ965FBGMBOX - in Canada


MoBo: Gigabyte GA-990XA-UD3 AMD 990X AM3+ ATX DDR3 3PCI-E16 2PCI-E1 2PCI SLI SATA3 USB3.0 Motherboard

NCIX.com - Buy Gigabyte GA-990XA-UD3 AMD 990X AM3+ ATX DDR3 3PCI-E16 2PCI-E1 2PCI SLI SATA3 USB3.0 Motherboard - Gigabyte - GA-990XA-UD3 - in Canada


RAM: G.SKILL F3-12800CL9D-4GBNQ PC3-12800 4GB 2X2GB DDR3-1600 CL9-9-9-24 240PIN Dual Channel Memory Kit

NCIX.com - Buy G.SKILL F3-12800CL9D-4GBNQ PC3-12800 4GB 2X2GB DDR3-1600 CL9-9-9-24 240PIN Dual Channel Memory Kit - G.Skill - F3-12800CL9D-4GBNQ - in Canada

MY OLD STUFF.

PSU - Antec SmartPower 2.0 SP-500 500 Watt Power Supply. should be good right?

Antec SmartPower 2.0 SP-500 500 Watt Power Supply ANTEC INC SP-500

Questions:

1)Mobo + CPU + Ram is good right?
2)PSU can handle those right? (Video card is 9800 GT OC)

The total there is about 368.59 CAN (shipping and tax included).
__________________

RossNews is offline  
Old 06-30-2011, 12:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Jagged.Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 73
Default Re: Check my new/upgrade PC!

Are you going to overclock? Because if so, you might want to get a higher wattage PSU to give you some good headroom.

NCIX.com - Buy Corsair Professional Series Gold AX750 CMPSU-750AX 750W ATX Fully Modular 80PLUS Gold Power Supply - Corsair - CMPSU-750AX - in Canada

If you want a cheaper, 650 Watt non-modular (Comes with a huge stack of cables connected to the PSU which cannot be removed, modular lets you pick which ones you use for tidier cables and better airflow) one that has similarities:

NCIX.com - Buy Corsair TX650 V2 650W ATX 12V Single Rail 53A 24PIN ATX Power Supply Active PFC 80PLUS Bronze - Corsair - CMPSU-650TXV2 - in Canada
__________________

Jagged.Edge is offline  
Old 06-30-2011, 03:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY USA
Posts: 384
Default Re: Check my new/upgrade PC!

I agree with jagged edge. I use an Antec High Current Gamer 520 but it is like 48amps on the 12v rail where as yours is much less I would take Jagged's advise. Also AMD cpu's benefit greatly from lower latency ram I would swap that cas9 for some cas7.
Thomas is offline  
Old 06-30-2011, 03:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 42
Default Re: Check my new/upgrade PC!

There will be no overlocking done. Not to this processor anyways.

I checked on the antec site and it said I will need about 400 Watts for my setup. So I figuire the 500Watt I have is enough.
RossNews is offline  
Old 06-30-2011, 03:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY USA
Posts: 384
Default Re: Check my new/upgrade PC!

You'll have enough, Since your not pushing things.
Thomas is offline  
Old 06-30-2011, 04:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 42
Default Re: Check my new/upgrade PC!

Well I just ordered with 1 minute to spare before the 50$ NCIX gift card deal was over lol... smoooth.

I ended up getting the 955 not the 965 because it was the same stepping model and the only difference was the -.2... saved 20$ on it.
RossNews is offline  
Old 06-30-2011, 06:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY USA
Posts: 384
Default Re: Check my new/upgrade PC!

Good choice! With a little tweaking you should be able to get that chip goin pretty fast! I have the 920 and I love it, been almost 2 years now and it still hums along I have mine clocked at 3.6ghz.
__________________

Thomas is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade component check: cwiz New Systems | Building and Buying 8 01-03-2011 02:15 AM
Want to upgrade to dx10 card...should I upgrade anything? ShifterControl New Systems | Building and Buying 1 10-21-2007 05:37 PM
Check out my new upgrade please! TylerV New Systems | Building and Buying 10 09-07-2006 09:52 PM
server upgrade check list selina Microsoft Windows and Software 2 07-10-2006 03:51 PM
If i upgrade my processor i think i need to upgrade my power supply Too! MADWAD New Systems | Building and Buying 6 09-29-2005 01:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.