cheapest C2D build- is it or not? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-06-2007, 09:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
siddanth3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: manchester, NH
Posts: 395
Default cheapest C2D build- is it or not?

hey guys, i have been doing my research and i wanted to build the cheapest but a good C2D build,mostly for gaming, so please tell me if this is a good build, or if u think i should change somethings. this is going to cost me about 750$ us dollars withouth the video card. i might be overclocking, so will i need kick *** parts to overclock, and probably better cooling system for the processor?. thanks

processor- http://www.newegg.com/product/Produc...82E16819115005

PSU- http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817182032

motherboard- http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131142

video card- i have a sapphire x850xt lying around at my house, so i might as well use that for a couple of months and then upgrade to a dx 10 card

memory- http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231098

case- http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811208021

dvd burner- http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827136108
hard drive- http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144309


please let me know what u think guys, i am looking for the best bang for the buck. i am not too sure about the motherboard and the memory so let me know what u guys think
thanks
__________________

siddanth3 is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 10:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Ok first thing edit and make spaces so all the links work for lazy people like me.

2. Do you want to overclock? and 3. Is this made to be for gaming mostly?
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 10:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

The Gigabyte DS3 is only a little bit more expensive than that board and probably will oc better. Also change teh C2D to a E4300, along with an aftermarket cooler, will OC much farther than the E6300 will. Due to having such a high multiplier compared to the e6300.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 10:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

That mobo isnt the best bang for buck. The Biostar 965PT is. It has the world record in overclocks to date.

As for the E4300 being a better overclocking this is wrong. The E6300 can yield a higher maximum overclock becuase of the lower muli. The E4300 only excels in being able to overclock with value ram, thus being a better value.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 10:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
siddanth3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: manchester, NH
Posts: 395
Default

i did the editing so it easier now, sorry for that
__________________
Antec 900
P4 prescott @3ghz HT 775
ViewSonic 20.1" lcd display + Samsung SyncMaster 2253
Corsair 2x512mb ddr2 533
FoxConn M7VMX-K LGA 775
FPS 400watt
WD 640 GB + WD 320 GB
Western Digital My Book 320gb
Evga 7900 GS
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech Navigation Keyboard
Razer Diamondback Plasma Blue
siddanth3 is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 10:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sora
That mobo isnt the best bang for buck. The Biostar 965PT is. It has the world record in overclocks to date.
I Like to read, so link?

And Go with This power supply. Its cheaper and still more than you need for this build.
Xclio GoodPower 500 Watt
Ste is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 10:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

I dont have the link but its been states all over overclock.net, and I belive the record was 5ghz with a C2D


Also yea 600w's is too much for an expensive system, let alone a budget.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 11:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sora
I dont have the link but its been states all over overclock.net, and I belive the record was 5ghz with a C2D


Also yea 600w's is too much for an expensive system, let alone a budget.
Link!....
Ste is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 11:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Here ya go

http://www.overclock.net/intel-cpus/...spi1m-9-a.html

They must have hit a new one becuase thats farther than i thought
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 11:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

DVD burner link doesn't work. This LG will do. LG carries a good warranty and they have quiet drives.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827136108
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.