Cheapest Build that Will Play Bioshock Well - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-30-2007, 08:08 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
ShaolinDreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 457
Default Re: Cheapest Build that Will Play Bioshock Well

i would tell your pal to wait.. get at least $1000 budget and do it properly. Theres some hardware coming out in dec and jan. I reckon in january he can get bit more for his money, thats if he can wait.

__________________

__________________
Gaming Rig
Intel Core 2 E6600 @ 3Ghz -Upgrade- Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro 25C/35C
Asus P5N-D Nforce 750i 1333FSB
Crucial Ballistix 2x1GB DDR2 800MHz -Upgrade- Crucial Ballistix Tracer RED 2x2GB 800Mhz
2x SataII, 2x IDE Total = 1.1Tb
EVGA 8800GTS 512mb 'Crysis Edition' @ 750/1900/2000
Onboard Realtek 8.1 Sound Jazzy!
Hiper Type-R 580w -Upgrade- Gigabyte ODIN GT 800W
Modded iCute -Upgrade- Antec 900
19" Iiyama CRT -NEXT Upgrade!- Samsung SM-T260HD 26" w/ Digital TV Tuner / Samsung SM-T240 24"

3DMark06 Score- 13k :)
ShaolinDreams is offline  
Old 11-30-2007, 08:08 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LeftEyeBlind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: America
Posts: 482
Send a message via MSN to LeftEyeBlind
Default Re: Cheapest Build that Will Play Bioshock Well

That 8800GT Superclocked isn't really needed to max out Bioshock, You could save alot by changing that card.
__________________

__________________
PROJECT WOLFDALE<br><br>GIGABTE GA-P35-DS3L (Rev. 2)<br><br>Intel Core 2 Duo e8400 "Wolfdale" 3.66Ghz<br><br>2X512MB Patriot Extreme - 1X1GB Mushkin<br><br>BFG 8800GT OC<br><br>Antec Nine Hundred
LeftEyeBlind is offline  
Old 11-30-2007, 08:10 PM   #13 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Cheapest Build that Will Play Bioshock Well

im running the psu that came with my RAIDmax Scorpio case and its running my system fine atm. haven't put it under any stress but its working.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 11-30-2007, 08:11 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Cheapest Build that Will Play Bioshock Well

if ur friend already has a Windows XP Key.. just reuse it.. and obtain XP.. because its not the way u get the CD that determines the legality, its the Key obtaining way that does...

also why not go the AMD Route:

get an x2 3600+ Brisbane and a Biostar Tforce550 that cuts like 140$.. (including the OS money saved )

which u can use to get a Xclio 550 or a Better Corsair 520hx
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 11-30-2007, 08:19 PM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: Cheapest Build that Will Play Bioshock Well

He needs an OS because he has a dell and the os in tied in with the dell system :-(

Amd would be fine by him...he just wants a system that would run Bioshock.

If it runs Bioshock I am sure it would run alot of other new games also....and it does NOT have to run them MAXED OUT.

He is not in anyway a fanboy, so the best system for the money the better.

I am sure he would have to be very happy with that 8800 GT
__________________
Cooler Master CM Stacker Case
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen 3
Intel i5-2500K
Cooler Master V6 GT Heat Sink
8 GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
GTX 570 SLI
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Grado RS1i & AKG Q701 Headphones
MAD EAR + HD Headphone Amp
Corsair CMPSU 850 Watt
Western Digital Black 500 GB
Crucial M4 64 GB SSD For Windows 7 64 Bit
Samsung 2494SW 24" LCD
Logitech G5 Mouse
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Whirlwind is offline  
Old 11-30-2007, 08:22 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LeftEyeBlind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: America
Posts: 482
Send a message via MSN to LeftEyeBlind
Default Re: Cheapest Build that Will Play Bioshock Well

Theres cheaper 8800s that will easily let him play with no lag and high settings.
__________________
PROJECT WOLFDALE<br><br>GIGABTE GA-P35-DS3L (Rev. 2)<br><br>Intel Core 2 Duo e8400 "Wolfdale" 3.66Ghz<br><br>2X512MB Patriot Extreme - 1X1GB Mushkin<br><br>BFG 8800GT OC<br><br>Antec Nine Hundred
LeftEyeBlind is offline  
Old 11-30-2007, 09:01 PM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Cheapest Build that Will Play Bioshock Well

u could max out Bioshock if u help him overclock the x2 3600+ to 3.0ghz.. which isn't hard anyways..
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 11-30-2007, 09:09 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
ShaolinDreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 457
Default Re: Cheapest Build that Will Play Bioshock Well

Quote:
Originally Posted by Whirlwind View Post
He needs an OS because he has a dell and the os in tied in with the dell system :-(

Amd would be fine by him...he just wants a system that would run Bioshock.

If it runs Bioshock I am sure it would run alot of other new games also....and it does NOT have to run them MAXED OUT.

He is not in anyway a fanboy, so the best system for the money the better.

I am sure he would have to be very happy with that 8800 GT

i dont care if its legal or not.. but if i own 1 piece of software i only pay for it once. ie.. i got xp on one comp.. i put it on another computer. You dont have to buy a game or a film for each computer so why do you need to XP. No wonder bill is the richest dude in the world.

i would tell your mate to phone dell and say i want my xp discs.. my comp is corrupted and i need to format.

my 2 cents
__________________
Gaming Rig
Intel Core 2 E6600 @ 3Ghz -Upgrade- Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro 25C/35C
Asus P5N-D Nforce 750i 1333FSB
Crucial Ballistix 2x1GB DDR2 800MHz -Upgrade- Crucial Ballistix Tracer RED 2x2GB 800Mhz
2x SataII, 2x IDE Total = 1.1Tb
EVGA 8800GTS 512mb 'Crysis Edition' @ 750/1900/2000
Onboard Realtek 8.1 Sound Jazzy!
Hiper Type-R 580w -Upgrade- Gigabyte ODIN GT 800W
Modded iCute -Upgrade- Antec 900
19" Iiyama CRT -NEXT Upgrade!- Samsung SM-T260HD 26" w/ Digital TV Tuner / Samsung SM-T240 24"

3DMark06 Score- 13k :)
ShaolinDreams is offline  
Old 11-30-2007, 09:29 PM   #19 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: Cheapest Build that Will Play Bioshock Well

Cheapest Build that Will Play Bioshock Well???


Would be a Xbox360
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 11-30-2007, 10:00 PM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: Cheapest Build that Will Play Bioshock Well

Quote:
Originally Posted by dario03 View Post
Cheapest Build that Will Play Bioshock Well???


Would be a Xbox360

LOL....SO TRUE!!
__________________

__________________
Cooler Master CM Stacker Case
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen 3
Intel i5-2500K
Cooler Master V6 GT Heat Sink
8 GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
GTX 570 SLI
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Grado RS1i & AKG Q701 Headphones
MAD EAR + HD Headphone Amp
Corsair CMPSU 850 Watt
Western Digital Black 500 GB
Crucial M4 64 GB SSD For Windows 7 64 Bit
Samsung 2494SW 24" LCD
Logitech G5 Mouse
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Whirlwind is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why does my Liteon DVD-ROM not play DVDs right? adam02 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 09-06-2007 02:39 PM
Help with a low budget build Flame Hawk New Systems | Building and Buying 34 08-22-2007 07:18 AM
cheapest build possible Poizen22 New Systems | Building and Buying 47 06-17-2007 01:29 AM
Cheapest Q6600 Build Gumbercules New Systems | Building and Buying 34 06-01-2007 01:01 AM
cheapest gaming build siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 24 05-06-2007 08:12 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.