Cheap upgrading - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-22-2007, 09:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 482
Default Cheap upgrading

So my current comp is over 7 yrs old, i need a new, cheap processor, motherboard and Hard drive. i'm looking at the e2800, or something cheaper with decent performance. Perhaps a GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L, since i dont need RAID, and a WD 500 GB HD. If anyone knows a cheaper MB or processor i would love to hear your input. Also a decent CPU cooler for a mid tower case? Artic cooler perhaps?
__________________

Prophet is offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 09:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Cheap upgrading

DS3L or Newegg.com - ABIT IP35 LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
and
Newegg.com - Intel Dual-Core E2180 Allendale 2.0GHz 1MB L2 Cache LGA 775 Processor - Retail
Newegg.com - ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler - Retail
Newegg.com - Crucial Ballistix 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 09:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Cheap upgrading

abit ip35-e and e2180
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 10:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 482
Default Re: Cheap upgrading

whats the difference between the ip35 and the ip35 e? appart from the price.....
Prophet is offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 10:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Cheap upgrading

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prophet View Post
whats the difference between the ip35 and the ip35 e? appart from the price.....
Didn't you ask something similar to this before? The IP35 has 2 more SATA ports, and RAID. It also has an IEEE 1394a connection.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 11:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 482
Default Re: Cheap upgrading

twas not me who asked. This is my first discussion of the abit boards. The ip35-e looks good, will only be running on HD so no need for raid. I'll stick with my current ram, wont be playing any games on this comp, just videos and music. Gonna use that ballistic RAM on my new build though. One more thing i just thought off, tried to figure what wattage my PSU is at and i cant seem to find any numerical value on the PSU. Even on the manufactures tag it only reads the part number. Anyone know a way to find out what wattage a PSU is? would suck to order all these parts and find out my PSU cant even power them
Prophet is offline  
Old 10-23-2007, 07:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Cheap upgrading

check the amperage instead...
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.