Cheap Overclockable Dual Core - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-27-2005, 02:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default Cheap Overclockable Dual Core

By cheap i mean under $500. I wanted a dual core just because it will last me longer than a single core and I also wanted to be able to overclock it. I would have just said X2, done but people said they suck at overclocking.
__________________

Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 02:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 114
Send a message via AIM to bball100
Default

Try the opteron 165 denmark. s939 of course.
__________________

__________________
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2x1gb OCZ platinum 2-3-2-5 ddr400
Opteron 148 Venus core w/ matching Venus heatsink fan
250gb WD SATA2 HDD
evga 7800gt 256mb gddr3
antec truepower II 550w psu
bball100 is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 03:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

For under $500 I would get the Opteron 170 because it has a 10x multiplier. It is $410 on Newegg- http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103585
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 03:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

CPU Multiplier has absolutely no bearing on performance mate...you could lower the 170 to 9x multi and increase FSB to 222MHz and it would offer the same performance...if you were to use a 1:1 ratio having a lower multiplier and higher FSB speed would actually be better as you're getting more memory bandwidth

Should also be noted that dual cores will not overclock as well as single core processors, plain and simple...but that being said a 600MHz increase on a dual core processor is actually 600x2 so it balances out one could say
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 03:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Ok, unless you say i should a single core and buy a high end one of those. I wanted to build my bro a decent gaming pc. He doesnt want to upgrade for a while so i figured I would get him a dual core and oc' it. I would also get a 7800gt and oc and unlock to gtx. I would get 1gb stick of ram and in a couple of months when he needs it get another and i will oc' that for him. Idk want to build him a decent gaming rig with alot of potentional.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 04:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gaara
CPU Multiplier has absolutely no bearing on performance mate...you could lower the 170 to 9x multi and increase FSB to 222MHz and it would offer the same performance...if you were to use a 1:1 ratio having a lower multiplier and higher FSB speed would actually be better as you're getting more memory bandwidth.
It just makes everything easier. I won't be able to get anywhere between 2.7-3ghz using 1:1 ratio without the 10x multiplier.

Plus when dealing with a multiplier of 10 it is easier to calculate things.

For example: 300htt x 10 = 3000mhz (3ghz) Se how easy it is. You would have to run a memory divider to achieve the same cpu frequency when using a 9x multiplier as a person running with 10x multiplier and DDR600 ram at 3ghz with a 1:1 ratio. They don't make ram fast enough to achieve upwards of 2.7ghz with a 9x multiplier and a 1:1 ratio. Most you could get is about 2.7, maybe more if you overclocked DDR600 but even then, that memory doesn't like to overclock much.
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 04:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 591
Default

so are the opteron dual core better than x2
zenyora is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 04:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Trust me dude...I went through the same thought process as you which is why I ended up with a 3200+ rather than a 3000+...and looking back everyday spending the extra money just so "calculations are easier" was the absolute stupidest thing I ever did...I'd rather have the $50 extra

I'm telling you now you aren't going to hit 3GHz on a dualie..especially if you have yet to buy your core and are trying to do it on air...even water would be unlikely...you're not going to be hitting 300HTT 1:1 unless you lower your multiplier
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 04:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Other peeps were getting 3ghz on them on air... I know I won't get one of those chips, I was just showing the calculations. I don't want to run a memory divider because then your bandwith is slower.

Why won't I be able to hit 300htt with a 10x multiplier (assuming I have a good chip)? I will be using DDR600 ram...
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 04:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

The opteron 170 wont OC as far anymore, the week 41, which i got, can only go up to 2.6 around there if your lucky, and less. Just warning you, you wont be able to get 3Ghz like everyone else lol.
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.