Cheap build for WOW - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-25-2009, 06:28 PM   #31 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Pyrothrillah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South of you
Posts: 464
Default Re: Cheap build for WOW

Ok so could I please have someone narrow down what I need, I have seen so many recommendations of the RAM that I have a headache I want to go ahead and start ordering this stuff and get the ball rolling.

I'm not totally sure as to what boards handle what PC ram and such and I want bang for buck like anyone else. Also if anyone knows a good monitor thats nothing too big, but the Video Card will not melt under please let me know, also a budget monitor :P

Thanks for the help yet again.
__________________

__________________
Follow My Twitch Stream
Buy Discounted PC Games and more!
Free Amazon Prime 30-Day Trial

New build as of 3/5/2014
--------------------------
Intel Core i7-4930K Ivy Bridge-E 3.4GHz
EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti
Corsair h100i Liquid CPU Cooler
G.SKILL RipJaws 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3 1600
ASUS Sabertooth X79 LGA 2011
Corsair 540 Case
Corsair AX850 Professional Series Modular PSU
Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit for System Builders


<---- If you feel sorry for me, or either I helped you - throw me some rep :D
Pyrothrillah is offline  
Old 03-25-2009, 06:43 PM   #32 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Cheap build for WOW

Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X3 720 2.8GHz 3 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 95W Triple-Core Black Processor - Processors - Desktops

Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-MA790XT-UD4P AM3 DDR3 AMD 790X ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards

Newegg.com - G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

Newegg.com - ASUS EAH4870 DK TOP/HTDI/512MD5 Radeon HD 4870 512MB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards

Newegg.com - COOLER MASTER Centurion 5 CAC-T05-UW Black Aluminum Bezel , SECC Chassis ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Computer Cases

That's using your old case, optical, PSU, and hard drive.

That is a Phenom II X3 build with DDR3.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-25-2009, 06:47 PM   #33 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Cheap build for WOW

^ that's some good ram you picked trotter.

i have this ram

Newegg.com - OCZ Platinum 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

and i have overclocked it to 1900MHZ at 7-7-7-20 and it has been running rock solid ever since just some thing to think about tho

BUT, i would get this ram instead. for $15 bucks it's a steal. same price as mine

Newegg.com - OCZ Reaper HPC 4GB &#40;2 x 2GB&#41; 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 &#40;PC3 12800&#41; Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 03-25-2009, 07:29 PM   #35 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: Cheap build for WOW

I thought DDR3 doesn't work well with AM3, or did I miss something?
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 03-25-2009, 07:53 PM   #36 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: Cheap build for WOW

He doesn't really need two pci-e connectors. Most cards come with an adapter for older psus with only 1.
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 03-25-2009, 08:23 PM   #37 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Cheap build for WOW

Quote:
Originally Posted by gt7sanremo View Post
I thought DDR3 doesn't work well with AM3, or did I miss something?
Same here, I thought i7 was the only time DDR3 was worth it.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 03-25-2009, 08:42 PM   #38 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: Cheap build for WOW

I think ddr3 you don't see the actual difference until it gets really fast (and expensive). What I've read on here anyways. That's why I was saying just pick up one of the amd march madness combos, and get some fast ddr2 1066 ram. While saving at least 50 bucks.

edit: Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!
There's the combo I've been posting like crazy.
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 03-25-2009, 09:27 PM   #39 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Cheap build for WOW

What is the use to buy an AM3 chip and then put it in an AM2+ board? AM3 uses DDR3, not DDR2. If you are going to do an AM2+ board, go with a 920 or 940, not an AM3 chip. The 720's overclock like nobody's business, though. DDR3 is going through the same bumps DDR2 did when it first hit mainstream.

If you are going to move into the future you need to use what is coming out, not the last gen. I learned my lesson on that the hard way.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-25-2009, 09:29 PM   #40 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: Cheap build for WOW

1066 is still high speed ram, and for what he is doing, he doesn't really need to use more money on it. He was trying to go for a very budget build to play WoW. But hey if he's get the money, then I totally agree with you.
__________________

Thresh25 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First PC build, any help appreciated. relapserebel System Upgrades 16 01-29-2009 01:02 PM
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
cheap dual core build solidsteve System Upgrades 7 07-16-2008 01:15 PM
Wanna build a cheap lil pwn Box Poemaster New Systems | Building and Buying 12 10-04-2007 11:44 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.