cheap - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-21-2006, 06:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 99
Default cheap

ok so i want to spend a maximum of $800.00 and i want:
Windows xp home edition sp2,
1gb of ram, 3.0GHz dual processor,
xfx geforce 6600 256mb
Can this be done?

I have the rest of the parts
__________________

Ihatewalmart is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 06:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

Easy enough

AMD opteron 165, you dont need 3.0ghz unless you go intel so just overclock
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103588

OCZ platinum series 1gb
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820146890

EVGA 6800GS (6600 is almost an outdated card)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130271

windows XP w/sp2
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16837116194

if you go an extra 20$ over 800$ you can get the best air CPU cooler so you can overclock better Zalman CNPS95000
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835118223
__________________

MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 06:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 99
Default

that stuff is too expensive but i would get the graphics card but the memory and that fan and the processor all suck cause i won't overclock cause i messed up 3 computers by doing that and they all had good air circulation
Ihatewalmart is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 06:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ihatewalmart
that stuff is too expensive but i would get the graphics card but the memory and that fan and the processor all suck
that is some of the best stuff money can buy even though you arent overclocking all that stuff kicks *** and i would recomend 2gb of RAM with games like Ut2k7 and oblivion coming up. and you said 800$ maximum so i expected to be able to give you parts up to 800$ and not hear you ***** about the price being too high.
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 08:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 350
Default

That OCZ can be left out.
__________________
Kitire is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 02:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

An AMD 3000+ = Intel 3.0.

The slowest X2 is the 3800+ which is equal to (or faster than) a 3.8GHz Intel. The 3800+ runs at 2.0GHz, but performs as good or better than the faster GHz Intel.

The 3800+ is also $44 cheaper than the Opty 165.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 07:01 AM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 99
Default

are you sure an amd 3000+ = intel p4 3.0Ghz?
Ihatewalmart is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 08:05 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 173
Default

^^ You come here asking for advice and you question everything anybody has suggested. Call dell imo, they'll hook you up.
d0ntcar3 is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 08:22 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

yes we are sure. the massive misconception by the public is that frequency (i.e. number of hz) is the sole factor in determining a cpu's power. the frequency determines the number of times per second the processor performs particular operations. each hz is called a clock cycle. AMD's processors do more per clock cycle than intels cpu's and thus give a similar or better output at a lower speed.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 08:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 430
Default

Why are you double posting Ihatewalmart? I just read this same post in upgrading general pc's section.
__________________

curtcheese64 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.