changing mobo need help.. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-08-2010, 09:16 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Slaymate's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: changing mobo need help..

Originally Posted by uneeb83 View Post
But as I have come to discover that the ASUS boards (all of them)
Here you say all of them

Originally Posted by uneeb83
have a memmory recognition problem that starts sooner rather than later. and thats the case for about 40% (no exaggeration)
Now it's down to 40%

Originally Posted by uneeb83
ppl istall 12 GB and the board sometimes reads 8 or 6 or 10 etc etc
Some people say that the memory controller in the I7 cannot handle 2 banks of memmory consistantly...which seems plusible
There is a small percentage of motherboards from every manufacturer that have this exact same problem. It's easy to say it's an Asus problem when their the only brand your scrutinizing. The i7 can handle 2 banks of memory just fine. Problems only arise when your running memory at speeds beyond it's rated capabilities or the cpu itself is running beyond it's rated capabilities.

Originally Posted by unbee83
Other than memory the asus offers a very good phase power designs
but I wouldn't be overclocking atall So the DX58SO will do all these things for me
Yes the DX58SO will work but it was a bad choice to begin with, in my opinion.

Slaymate is offline  
Old 05-08-2010, 10:48 AM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 116
Default Re: changing mobo need help..

my bad...
"All of them" here means all modles of them
as for 40 % thats the avrage faliure rate for every modle...
I know that the sources are not that authentic but I didn't exaggerate at what they said
yes I agree that almost all of the boards have this issue and you said it your self that "Problems only arise when your running memory at speeds beyond it's rated capabilities" well the i7 is rated at 1066 but who has a memmory for the i7 that has no SPD beyond 1066. may be 2% only. So that takes me to the i7 memmory contoller part.
well I have to agree what you imply makes sense: let me rephrase :
the i7 memmory controller was not made to run >1066 memmorys with 2 banks, (I sure don't hope it goes for the single bank too )

anyways back to the topic. I was a fool not to have listened to any body. And might this be a lesson for all that ever read this.
During my research I hand picked asus due to its features but had the DX58SO in mind
I asked a few forums that all screamed ASUS
I asked one of my friends and he reccomended ASUS
then I went to the shop and the keeper also sided with ASUS
But guess what the stubborn me endded with this board....

this comes from a guy with a whole lot of intel boards experience:
when no one is there to give you advice, even then listen to the silent walls around you, may they offer you a better alternative.

Intel Core I7 920 (DO) @ 2.66 GHz
intel DX58SO
Corshair XMS3 1600 MHz DDR3 SD-RAM
CM 690
9500 GT (Im not a gamer:tongue:)
CM eXtreme SLI ready 600W power supply
HP DL+/- writer and DVD RAM
uneeb83 is offline  
Old 05-08-2010, 12:58 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Slaymate's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: changing mobo need help..

The i7 is not rated at 1066, it runs at 1333. And it was designed to run using 2 Banks. I said "Problem arise" as a general term. To be more specific, these types of problems usually arise when your trying to run memory in 2 banks at higher speeds with a budget or value-minded motherboard. Or another example would be the user trying to get Enthusiast Performance out of a Bargain Basement Setup. Of course even if you buy a "Good" motherboard you still need to have enough knowledge to utilize the extra options givens to properly configure the CPU, Memory Controller and Memory Timings plus their respective voltage requirements.

Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PCI-E 2.0 on 1.0 mobo? proman9988 System Upgrades 1 04-30-2009 06:23 PM
Mobo bios locked from OC'ing? IF06 System Upgrades 3 12-29-2008 08:59 AM
Is it mobo or cpu? Crazy658 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-09-2008 04:07 AM
Possible dead mobo saltynay New Systems | Building and Buying 4 10-09-2008 06:12 PM
mobo CPU fan changing tone smurph Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 04-20-2007 06:06 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.