changing mobo need help.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-02-2010, 08:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 116
Default changing mobo need help..

OK so I have a DX58SO for my core i7 920...
don't plan to OC...
the board has gone for warrenty claiming..
Intel is sending me the latest revision of the board..

BUTTTT....here is the problem...
this is a V.good chance for me to exchange my board from my vendor for an ASUS p6t DELUX V2 for about $80-$90 more...

I have already read the reviews about both boards but I just want an hunest advice about this.....should I go for the change or stay with what I have....

I need to know more about the asus p6t delux v2 from ppl who own one....

like is it troublesome , slowboots, hangs, memmory problems.

Also I am still doubble minded because ASUS only offers me 9 month warrenty on their boards HERE...

PS....all other boards aren't availible here....ony the DX58SO,p6t and the p6t DV2

any help is appreciated
__________________

__________________
Intel Core I7 920 (DO) @ 2.66 GHz
intel DX58SO
Corshair XMS3 1600 MHz DDR3 SD-RAM
CM 690
9500 GT (Im not a gamer:tongue:)
CM eXtreme SLI ready 600W power supply
WD 500 GB 32MB Cache CAVIAR BLACK
HP DL+/- writer and DVD RAM
uneeb83 is offline  
Old 05-02-2010, 09:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: changing mobo need help..

I highly recommend the Asus P6T Deluxe V2. Hefemeister has one and it Rocks
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 05-02-2010, 10:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: changing mobo need help..

Hefe has rocks in his pants?

Yes, the ASUS is a nice move. I have seen many people buy and love it.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-03-2010, 03:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 116
Default Re: changing mobo need help..

I am too leaning to wards this choice...but there are the draw backs...
like what if I have a defective RAM slot which is usually the case with this perticular asus board....I only have 6 GB RAM now...and have no way to test all RAM slots...
and what is the board dies after 2 years....I cant afford to buy another one....

With INtel there is no RAM issue...and I have 3 years warrenty to return my dead board...

BUTTTT then again...the ASUS is a GREAT GREAT board....

if heme has one...I would like to ask him the problems that he encountered with that board....
__________________
Intel Core I7 920 (DO) @ 2.66 GHz
intel DX58SO
Corshair XMS3 1600 MHz DDR3 SD-RAM
CM 690
9500 GT (Im not a gamer:tongue:)
CM eXtreme SLI ready 600W power supply
WD 500 GB 32MB Cache CAVIAR BLACK
HP DL+/- writer and DVD RAM
uneeb83 is offline  
Old 05-03-2010, 04:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: changing mobo need help..

Quote:
Originally Posted by uneeb83 View Post
I am too leaning to wards this choice...but there are the draw backs...
like what if I have a defective RAM slot which is usually the case with this perticular asus board....I only have 6 GB RAM now...and have no way to test all RAM slots...
and what is the board dies after 2 years....I cant afford to buy another one....

With INtel there is no RAM issue...and I have 3 years warrenty to return my dead board...

BUTTTT then again...the ASUS is a GREAT GREAT board....

if heme has one...I would like to ask him the problems that he encountered with that board....
You'll easily be able to test ALL ram slots with the current ram. It's simple, use 1 stick of ram each time, and see if it boots when the ram is in each slot. ASUS has a 3 year warranty on their boards, been that way since '99. Plus, I know from experience that their RMA is actually pretty decent. I sent in a GPU and didn't even have to have the receipt. (This was a few years ago, so not sure what has changed.) You will get far more options with the ASUS board over the Intel. You will get a larger community with the ASUS board over the Intel, so troubleshooting should be quite easy. With Intel there's a chance that you get charged $25 to fix the board, plus other fees as stated in the warranty information specific to your product, similar to ASUS. I had to pay shipping to them for the RMA, but shipping back was free. I've never had to pay for parts/labor for any ASUS product that has been RMA'd.
__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Old 05-03-2010, 08:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: changing mobo need help..

I would opt for the P6t regular edition if you could and you wont have to dish out any extra cash hopefully, obviously the p6t v2 is much more feature rich and better for overclocking than a regular p6t. I have owned one (it was great quality for a inexpensive board) and is much better than a intel board.

Also as 95 said its easy to test ram dimms and such and if you have to RMA through asus and not your vendor, just be sure to keep an invoice.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 05-04-2010, 10:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 116
Default Re: changing mobo need help..

with all due respects, Isn't the regular P6t a problem house! I mean It had more problems than the Dx58so had. Are you sure that the regular p6t would be better?
I can get one tommorow for a mere $30 extra...But you just made me doubble minded now :S
__________________
Intel Core I7 920 (DO) @ 2.66 GHz
intel DX58SO
Corshair XMS3 1600 MHz DDR3 SD-RAM
CM 690
9500 GT (Im not a gamer:tongue:)
CM eXtreme SLI ready 600W power supply
WD 500 GB 32MB Cache CAVIAR BLACK
HP DL+/- writer and DVD RAM
uneeb83 is offline  
Old 05-04-2010, 11:13 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: changing mobo need help..

The regular P6T was fine. If you want to be on the safe side, you can get the P6T v2 if you want, and obviously get more feature for more money. It's really a matter of personal preference on your part.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 05-06-2010, 11:35 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 116
Default Re: changing mobo need help..

OK so here is the deal....Im dona ditch the Dx58so and go for the asus board...
But now I need to know which one....as far as I have seen the DV2 offers 1 extra Lan port and 2 USB ports.
I won't be using the IDE of Floppy on any of them, Nor will I be using SAS controller. But I do plan to upgrade to 4 GB RAM sticks in the future (when they get....Affordible)
I WILLLLLLLLL NOOTTTTTT be OCing , PS I also want a board that will take my i7 920 DO out of the box...the dx58so had the issue of BIOS recognition, I have no idea if the same exists for the asus boards.
also I plan on setting up a 3 way SLI or crossfire (in the DISTANT future)

SO guys what will it be for me? which board is better..???
also I should mention the upgrading price:
p6t regular~30$
DV2 version~85$
__________________
Intel Core I7 920 (DO) @ 2.66 GHz
intel DX58SO
Corshair XMS3 1600 MHz DDR3 SD-RAM
CM 690
9500 GT (Im not a gamer:tongue:)
CM eXtreme SLI ready 600W power supply
WD 500 GB 32MB Cache CAVIAR BLACK
HP DL+/- writer and DVD RAM
uneeb83 is offline  
Old 05-08-2010, 09:21 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 116
Default Re: changing mobo need help..

Update:

changed my mind after reading quite a bit.


On second thought Im gonna keep the DX58SO once it comes back.
y?
well because, The main reason for my switching was that I get a board that does 6 slots of memmory
But as I have come to discover that the ASUS boards (all of them)
have a memmory recognition problem that starts sooner rather than later. and thats the case for about 40% (no exaggeration)
ppl istall 12 GB and the board sometimes reads 8 or 6 or 10 etc etc
Some people say that the memory controller in the I7 cannot handle 2 banks of memmory consistantly...which seems plusible

Other than memory the asus offers a very good phase power designs
but I wouldn't be overclocking atall So the DX58SO will do all these things for me.

and this will allow me to later swap the board for the upcomming 1365 sockets....

Sweeeett plan
__________________

__________________
Intel Core I7 920 (DO) @ 2.66 GHz
intel DX58SO
Corshair XMS3 1600 MHz DDR3 SD-RAM
CM 690
9500 GT (Im not a gamer:tongue:)
CM eXtreme SLI ready 600W power supply
WD 500 GB 32MB Cache CAVIAR BLACK
HP DL+/- writer and DVD RAM
uneeb83 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PCI-E 2.0 on 1.0 mobo? proman9988 System Upgrades 1 04-30-2009 07:23 PM
Mobo bios locked from OC'ing? IF06 System Upgrades 3 12-29-2008 09:59 AM
Is it mobo or cpu? Crazy658 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-09-2008 05:07 AM
Possible dead mobo saltynay New Systems | Building and Buying 4 10-09-2008 07:12 PM
mobo CPU fan changing tone smurph Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 04-20-2007 07:06 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.